Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
very good! i added cubed chicken breast instead of ground, added some jalepenos. put 2c dry beans in crock pot with 5c water and a tsp corn starch for 4 hours high. add rest of cooked ingredients and do 4 more hours at high. i also added some canned tomatoes with green chiles instead of crushed. also added some blackened chicken seasoning found on allrecipes. served with toasted garlic bread with melted cheddar and a dollop of sour cream set directly on top of the serving. yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used this recipe, but didnt use canned black beans. I cooked some myself. I modified the recipe with these changes: 1. Doubled chili powder to 3 tbsp, and added 1/4 tbsp hot chili powder. 2. Used ground chicken instead of turkey 3. Added 1/2 tbsp cumin 4. Added 1/4 tbsp paprika 5. Since I used my own beans, I added 1/2 cup of tomato sauce 6. For crushed tomatoes, used 2 10 oz cans of Ro-Tel tomatoes. Use hot or mild for your taste. 7. Used EVOO instead of veggie oil. This makes a nice spicy chili, as well as the extra chili powder cuts the tart taste of the tomato sauce and the vinegar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I'm giving this a 3 instead of a 2 because my husband liked it. I felt that the oregano and basil were way too overpowering. I think it needed more chili powder, and half of the other herbs. Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
haven't tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
pretty tasty! I put the browned meat and onions into the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients and let it cook on high for 2 hours. Served over the Sweet Cornbread recipe on this site. Just wished for some more spice to it. Next time I'll add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Easy, hearty dinner! I made it last night and it was a hit. I added a lot of extra chili powder because it was a little bland at first and used the 1.3 lbs of turkey. Served with french bread and it was perfect. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! First time making black bean chili. I did tweak it though. I used Rotel tomatoes and apple cider vinegar because that's what I had on hand. I topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit. I changed very little. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of crushed. It added a little heat which we liked. To make it fabulous, after I cook the turkey and heat all the other ingredients through, I put it in the crock pot for a few hours. It really blends all the flavors well. My husband asks for this all the time. Plus it's not that bad for us. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very tasty. I also added cumin. Topped with fresh cilantro leaves and chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimamy98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Hills, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States