Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I'm giving this a 3 instead of a 2 because my husband liked it. I felt that the oregano and basil were way too overpowering. I think it needed more chili powder, and half of the other herbs. Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
haven't tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
pretty tasty! I put the browned meat and onions into the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients and let it cook on high for 2 hours. Served over the Sweet Cornbread recipe on this site. Just wished for some more spice to it. Next time I'll add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Easy, hearty dinner! I made it last night and it was a hit. I added a lot of extra chili powder because it was a little bland at first and used the 1.3 lbs of turkey. Served with french bread and it was perfect. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! First time making black bean chili. I did tweak it though. I used Rotel tomatoes and apple cider vinegar because that's what I had on hand. I topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit. I changed very little. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of crushed. It added a little heat which we liked. To make it fabulous, after I cook the turkey and heat all the other ingredients through, I put it in the crock pot for a few hours. It really blends all the flavors well. My husband asks for this all the time. Plus it's not that bad for us. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very tasty. I also added cumin. Topped with fresh cilantro leaves and chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimamy98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Hills, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe is GREAT and a real hit with our family. One change I made was to use balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives it a real earthy flavor. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Decent chili. Not the best I've had, but I was able to use ingrediants I had on hand. I used twice the tomatoes and only 2 cans of black beans. I also spiced up the turkey with a teaspoon of Cumin. I agree that it could have used more seasoning. Using a dollop of light sour cream and light cheddar cheese tops the dish off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States