Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Easy, hearty dinner! I made it last night and it was a hit. I added a lot of extra chili powder because it was a little bland at first and used the 1.3 lbs of turkey. Served with french bread and it was perfect. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! First time making black bean chili. I did tweak it though. I used Rotel tomatoes and apple cider vinegar because that's what I had on hand. I topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit. I changed very little. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of crushed. It added a little heat which we liked. To make it fabulous, after I cook the turkey and heat all the other ingredients through, I put it in the crock pot for a few hours. It really blends all the flavors well. My husband asks for this all the time. Plus it's not that bad for us. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very tasty. I also added cumin. Topped with fresh cilantro leaves and chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimamy98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Hills, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe is GREAT and a real hit with our family. One change I made was to use balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives it a real earthy flavor. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Decent chili. Not the best I've had, but I was able to use ingrediants I had on hand. I used twice the tomatoes and only 2 cans of black beans. I also spiced up the turkey with a teaspoon of Cumin. I agree that it could have used more seasoning. Using a dollop of light sour cream and light cheddar cheese tops the dish off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
great! added 1/2 teas cumin - additional 1/2 teas. chilli powder - pepper flakes - and instead of 3 cans of black beans I did one can black beans, one can pinto beans and one can corn. use 20 oz. turkey and 28 oz. crushed tomatoes. everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I've never been a fan of turkey chili because they all seemed to too polite. This recipe changed that. In my version, I added 1/2 T. more chili powder, about 1/2 T. gd. cumin, and, for some smoky kick, 1 1/2 T. chopped chipotle in adobo. Next time, I will add the beans later because after simmering 60+ minutes, canned beans start to turn to mush. Like most chili recipes, this one can be customized to suit differing tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The best black bean chili ever!! I used grass fed ground beef in place of the turkey and a dash of cumin. The wine vinegar is the secret I think as it enhances all the flavors! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Venus-Fenrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Litchfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States