Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I also followed the above reviews and added a larger can of tomatoes. A really great base to create any sort of chili you would like. Will be making this one again for sure! Also very healthy with all those beans!! Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Very yummy although I like my chili more spicey so I added more chili powder along with cumin and about 5 times the amount of garlic. I think I'll try to add some anahiem peppers or some roasted chili of some kind next time. I used fire roasted canned tomatoes (Muir Glen) for an additional roasted tasted. A made a big batch for a party we had and my neighbors loved it. I served it with the Vegan Agave Corn Muffins. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Felton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tried this recipe because I had lots of black beans and needed a recipe to use them up. Didn't really think this recipe could be as good as all the reviews said, but I was wrong. Amazing! Even my kids loved it. The only thing I added extra was a can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic (only because I like extra tomatoes) and used balsamic vinegar because I didn't have red wine vinegar. It's a keeper for us. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very good chili recipe and a nice way to switch it up. If you cook as the recipe suggests then it will be VERY beany, if you add more crushed tomato then it will lessen the bean taste. I added in cumin and cinnamon. I also cooked 2 lbs of turkey.... LOVED it! Great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgreeno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty, love it with a 1/2 tsp of cumin added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Easy, healthy, but tastes just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I won my work chili cookoff with this recipe. I use Rotel, mild, unless you like it unbearable, use all Hot. I also increased the tomatoes, 4 total cans of Rotel, 3 mild, 1 hot. I cook in a slow cooker on high for 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I cooked the dish and had it for dinner as soon as it cooked for the 1 hour 30 minutes, I thought the red wine vinager was too overpowering then. I warmed it up the next day for lunch and it was wonderful! I think it must be one of those soups that are better to cook them and wait to they are cooled down then put them in the refridgerator all night and they are much better the next day. Will be making this recioe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great, easy recipe. I added canned corn and only used two cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
We eat a lot of chili and I really like this recipe. I make a few changes to suit our tastes: I double the meat and blend the can of tomatoes because we don't like chunky tomatoes in our chili. I add 1 1/2 tsp of Chipotle Chili powder (in addition to regular Chili Powder) plus 1 or 2 finely diced fresh jalapenos. The Chipotle powder gives it a richer, smokier taste. I usually add a chopped red or orange sweet pepper. The secret to this (for me) is simmering it for a long time so the flavors meld. This is a super simple recipe that people love. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States