Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
What great recipe,I love that is fast and easy to make.I have little ones so a I used a packet of mild chili seasoning,I just added sriracha hot chili sauce to my servings lol.I also added red and green bell peppers,more garlic,cumin, a little sugar,and the vinegar is a must,it brings out the flavor in the beans which I only used 2 cans.I use vinegar whenever I make black beans! I didn't have cornbread so I used Pillsbury Butter Flake Crescent Rolls,and omg was it delish..I'm happy I didn't have cornbread..please try them with the chili..it's delish!!!!Btw Yes YOU WILL NEED A 28OZ can of tomatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uniquenique2002

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Excellent blend of spices with both the chili and herb flavors. One thing to keep in mind is not all chili powder is the same blend of spices. Mine had oregano in addition to the added oregano. I grow fresh basil and oregano. My dinner came out slightly strong on the oregano, but was still very good. We enjoy green chilies, so I added that as well. Next time I will put the ingredients in a crock pot on low to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have used this chili recipe as a base for several different batches with great success! I've added some seasoning and different hot peppers each time to perfect it to my taste easily. I would recomend cooking it for an extra hour or two, because I find the flavors blend better with a little more time. One last suggestion would be to keep a can of tomato paste on hand. One or two batches ended up a little runny and the paste gave it some thickness without affecting flavor. Thanks for sharing with us, everyone is now a huge fan of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I read the comments and added a can of rotel. Still was a little bland. I should have added cumin - definitely would perk it up a bit. I think maybe a little less black beans and a small can of corn? I'll make it again. Very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Because I had to modify this recipe, which is a great base, I am giving it four stars instead of five. Like others, I doubled the tomato and added cumin. I also added some seasoning salt while cooking down the onion. I skipped the vinegar because I didn't have any. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The first times exactly as written and several times with some adjustments and all turned out great. It is very versatile. I just add what I happen to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic Black Bean Chili Haiku: "Shoulda read reviews, and added more tomatoes. Needed cumin too." I really, really try my best to stay faithful to a recipe as written, and the only thing I had to drop was one can of beans from this, but gosh, if I'd only read the seemingly-consistent call in reviews for more tomatoes or cumin, maybe we would've enjoyed this more. As it was, we needed quite a bit of cheese, hot sauce, and Fritos to get thru eating this at dinner, and the leftovers were sadly tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Have you ever noticed how so many reviews start with: "I followed this recipe exactly EXCEPT..." ?? Well...I followed this recipe exactly, PERIOD. EXACTLY. And it was fabulous! I actually started to add salt, but then thought, "No, I will wait and taste it at the end and see what I think then." And after tasting it, I decided I really didn't miss the salt at all. I think the sodium from the canned beans and tomatoes probably gives it enough as is, and the other spices provide a really terrific blend of earthy and rich flavors. This was something new and different, and not just the same old chili. I will definitely make this one again and again! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Slow cooker version : Now I have a slow cooker I've adapted it. Brown the turkey and onion then put everything else in the same with one exemption. I lightly drain the beans by covering the cans with the lids so most of the water is taken out. Turns out perfect. As others say I add some more ingredients such as taste Garlic salt and onion salt. Cook on low at least 6 hours even longer if you can make it the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Needs more chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States