Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Because I had to modify this recipe, which is a great base, I am giving it four stars instead of five. Like others, I doubled the tomato and added cumin. I also added some seasoning salt while cooking down the onion. I skipped the vinegar because I didn't have any. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The first times exactly as written and several times with some adjustments and all turned out great. It is very versatile. I just add what I happen to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic Black Bean Chili Haiku: "Shoulda read reviews, and added more tomatoes. Needed cumin too." I really, really try my best to stay faithful to a recipe as written, and the only thing I had to drop was one can of beans from this, but gosh, if I'd only read the seemingly-consistent call in reviews for more tomatoes or cumin, maybe we would've enjoyed this more. As it was, we needed quite a bit of cheese, hot sauce, and Fritos to get thru eating this at dinner, and the leftovers were sadly tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Have you ever noticed how so many reviews start with: "I followed this recipe exactly EXCEPT..." ?? Well...I followed this recipe exactly, PERIOD. EXACTLY. And it was fabulous! I actually started to add salt, but then thought, "No, I will wait and taste it at the end and see what I think then." And after tasting it, I decided I really didn't miss the salt at all. I think the sodium from the canned beans and tomatoes probably gives it enough as is, and the other spices provide a really terrific blend of earthy and rich flavors. This was something new and different, and not just the same old chili. I will definitely make this one again and again! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Slow cooker version : Now I have a slow cooker I've adapted it. Brown the turkey and onion then put everything else in the same with one exemption. I lightly drain the beans by covering the cans with the lids so most of the water is taken out. Turns out perfect. As others say I add some more ingredients such as taste Garlic salt and onion salt. Cook on low at least 6 hours even longer if you can make it the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Needs more chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe is the closest to my Skillet Chili recipe I've seen. Here's how mine is different: Sautéed onion in Barefoot Cab (in lieu of red wine vinegar) with S&P. Added 2 T. garlic and 2.3 lbs. turkey and 2 t. Vegetable Better than Bouillon. When turkey was browned, I added 1 can fire-roasted tomatoes, 1 can tomato paste, 1.75 cans black beans, 2/3 can Ro-Tel. In addition to listed spices, I added cayenne to taste. Really tasty! Worth saving and repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My husband does not like chili. However, he ate two bowls and was asking if there was more. Also my daughter whom is so picky that about all she will eat is pizza and fried chicken. Loved this chili. It is definitely five star chili. This recipe is now the only one I will use. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very good recipe. I did follow the directions, but added more tomato's, excellent. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by jra6766
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Turned out great. Not too spicy. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States