Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is the 1st time I've made chili, and this came out great. My variation (in addition to what is listed): 28 oz can of tomatoes, can o' corn, 1 tbs each of cumin, red pepper flakes, ancho and guajillo chili powder, 1/2 jalapeno, pinch of salt and pepper, and just 2 cans of black beans. Good heat, but not too much. And really easy to make. Will def make again. Thanks to the original poster:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very good. Put the 14.5 oz can of crushed tomatoes and also added a 10 oz can of ro-tel. Great with Mont.Jack cheese, sour cream, and some jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I already have a meatless recipe for black bean chili, but I was looking for something different. This looked too simple to be great, but it was! I used half lean ground beef and half ground turkey breast instead of regular ground turkey. I loved it, my eldest devoured it, and my youngest liked it too. Husband was out of town, so no vote from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. Have made it several times. Try not to be too heavy on the Red Wine Vinegar though, it is powerful! I also use less turkey than called for (about half). You can even cut it in smaller portions when preparing and it simmers and tastes just the same. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this chili! Instead of using canned black beans, I used "Ivis' Black Beans" recipe from this site (which I had in my freezer) and beef chili meat instead of ground turkey (which I also had in my freezer). I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed because that was what I had in the pantry. I did add one can of tomato sauce as well. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Love this recipe! I am not a big bean fan, however I do like black beans. My husband loves this recipe too....we use ground goat meat. It's wonderful. Corn bread on the side and a little cheese on top. Great comfort food for this rainy wet weather we are having here on the east coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is my new favorite black bean chili recipe. Everyone loved it and said that it was the best yet. Also, it's really simple to make and requires very few basic ingredients. I made two tweaks though; 1) I added 1 tsp of ground cumin. 2) I used dried beans instead of canned. I soaked them overnight and cooked them alone for 60 minutes. I then drained them and continued with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souldad57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The vinegar makes all the difference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this with about a pound of cubed chicken since that's what I had. 1 can black beans, 1 can red beans, 1 can white beans. I drained the beans before I noticed not to, so I added in a little salt. I pureed a can of diced tomatoes, which added plenty of moisture. Also added about a tsp sugar and a tsp of chicken boullion. Oh, and used marjoram instead of oregano (which is a sub I usually make since I like the flavor better). Served over white rice with sour cream on top. My family adored this chili! Even my picky kids inhaled it! The herbs add a nice, savory flavor and the chili comes out flavorful, but not too spicy. Didn't have a lot of time to let it simmer all together (about 10 minutes or so), so I bet it would taste even better after letting the flavors mix more. Only have a tiny bit leftover to see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Simple and tasty, this was a hit with everyone at my house. I usually have all these ingredients on hand which makes me love the recipe even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States