Fantasio Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
The taste of these bars was good but I feel the amount of ingredients are not sufficient for a 9 X 13" pan. I really had to spread the crumb mixture thinly and then had a problem getting the coconut/milk mixture to spread on top of it. I ended up using almost 2 cups of morsels to make a decent layer of chocolate and I spread the nuts on top. I would make them again but would try using a 10 X 13" jelly role pan. You may have to check for baking times with this alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I think these bars tasted great also, however, based on Julies review, I doubled the whole recipe. The crust was then too think. Everything else was nicely proportioned when it was doubled, but i would make just a little more crust if the regular amount isnt enough. But i would still double the middle and top part. It is very sweet. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I did use a smaller pan 7x10 brownie pan and I thought the height of the bar was good thanks to previous reviews. I used graham crackers that had sugar on them so I reduced the sugar by 1/2. Using a butter knife helped spread the cond. milk mixture. The chocolate chip layer did not harden up very fast at all, even outside in 35* weather. But eventually got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Love these! I took them to an event and had several ladies ask for the recipe, my husband absolutely loved them as well! I did notice that the ingredients were a little scarce for the 9x13 size pan. This time I will try a smaller pan, or maybe I'll just double the recipe, I want to make sure I have enough as they disappear fast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szaboa80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
These were amazing and so easy to make! we'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Love these, but they are very rich. Went with the advice of others and used a smaller pan, which did made them thicker bar. Next time I may not use a whole of sweeten condense milk to cut down a bit on the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made these for my brother-in-law's surprise party and there were such a hit! So many people asked for the recipe! I made exactly as written and yes they were a bit on the thin side but they are so rich you really don't need them much thicker. Will make these again and again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are the Magic Cookie Bars from the Eagle Brand can wrapper. I've been making them for 20 years! You don't need the white sugar in the crust, it is overkill. I've always doubled the toppings. Those can be changed to suit your own tastes. Use butterscotch, peanut butter, or milk chocolate chips for a different taste. I usually use pecans but almonds and walnuts are great too. Make your life easier by lining the pan with aluminum foil. Let the bars cool after baking, then just lift them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
WadieS is right. I have been making these for more than 30 years. Walnuts work fine. Hazelnuts are excellent, also. The butterscotch is grand. Of course, I am a chocoholic so I prefer chocolate. I live in Senior Citizen housing and, although I am almost 80, I bake for many people here. I make these four or five times per year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The sugar was not needed, too much crust or not enough chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States