Fancy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I took the advice of other readers and cut the cream cheese in half as well as mix the cheddar in the mixture instead of entirely on top. I also used garlic powder, salt, and fresh black pepper to add more flavor. Everyone liked it and it was still nice and creamy the next day. I will make this again in lieu of traditional mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Used only 1 package of cream cheese. This turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Make sure to add green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So So good I read the reviews and the only things I changed were I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and I mixed half the chedder cheese into the potatos then put the rest on top. I also added 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese mixed in and about 1/3 cup green onions. And sprinkled the top with black pepper before baking. So great will make again and again. Oh yeah one cream cheese is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Wow! So good. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8. I ended up baking it for about a half hour until the cheese was starting to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I thought these needed salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was DELISH! I love how its sooo easy and quick to do. Next time I'll add a bit of milk to make it creamier. Plus this recipe will turn out great with any cheese you have in your fridge. I even used sliced american cheese and everyone lived it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I loved this recipe!!! this is great for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I cheated due to time contraints and used the frozen steam & mash, 1 plain & 1 garlic flavored. I also used 1 8 oz package cream cheese & milk to desired consistency & topped with cheese. Made mid morning & kept them cool by placing in cooler with a few frozen ice chillers. This dish was a BIG hit, my 13 yr old granddaughter said "these are the best potatoes you have EVER made". she was even making sandwiches with rolls and the potatoes. I had leftovers for next day dinner party, added a little water to dish and reheated in 200 degree oven, they never knew they were leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I felt 2 pkgs of cream cheese was too much for the quantity of potatoes.. maybe mine were smaller spuds. I mixed in the cheddar, used fat free sour cream, and reduced fat cream cheese, and lots more garlic.. also dalloped butter on top w/the rest of the cheddar - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States