Fancy Fruit Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ecdo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have made this for years and everyone loves it! The secret is to buy a roll of sugar cookie dough--cuts down a bunch on time. Use whatever fruits are in season. Strawberries, Kiwi and mandarin oranges are always a must for us. Their contrasting colors bring this alive. I've recently started arranging the fruit for theme parties--like football teams or NASCAR! Just have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is one of my all-time favorite desserts (high praise from a card-carrying chocoholic). I always use strawberries, bananas, kiwi, peaches, and blueberries. The key is to get as many contrasting colors as possible. Also, I have never used any kind of glaze on this as so many of the recipes suggest. If you squeeze a lemon over the entire pie, the fruits won't brown. This will enable you to put it in the refrigerator overnight, which makes all of the flavors meld. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmileChicago
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
It is no exaggeration to say that my friends beg on their hands and knees for me to make this dessert. I make a double batch each time because it disappears so quickly. It will fill a whole baking sheet nicely. Lightly tap the pan on the counter after pulling the cookie out of the oven for a flat and gorgeous result. I use as many colorful fruits as I can find. Strawberries, fresh pineapple, mandarin oranges, bananas, kiwi, and blueberries scattered throughout work well. Slice fruit THICK and place close to each other for the most flavorful bites. This recipe makes me a hero and you can be one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileChicago
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLONDIENEG
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I remember making this with my mom and sister when we were little! I made it today for my family and it tasted just the same - perfect! I think this will be a dessert that we continue to make frequently! UPDATE: If you are like me and you have both an aerated pizza pan and a solid one, USE THE SOLID PIZZA PAN! I used the aerated one by mistake the other day and I can't tell you what fun it was to clean up sugar cookie from all over the bottom of my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Save yourself time and simply use a tube of pre-made sugar cookie dough! The cream cheese filling is soooo good. I took this to an Indy 500 party, and it was the very first thing gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMTrowbridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I've made this many times over the years, my mom passed down the recipe. What I like is that I can use different fruits in it. I've used cherry pie filling, bananas, blueberries, raspberry, even white grapes. doesnt matter what you put on it, its awesome! I'm not a fan of orange marmalade, but it all mixes in nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
FAST way to make this and it is still amazingly delicious. I baked the sugar cookie crust. While it was cooling I threw together the cream cheese and whipped cream and blended it with my hand mixer. I spread this out evenly over the cooled crust. Then I made an amazing design of fruit: sliced strawberries, whole blueberries, whole raspberries and canned mandarin oranges in juice, NOT syrup. It is an explosion of color and absolutely beautiful. Fewer ingredients make this very easy if short on time or energy. Chill 30 min. Be sure to slice ALL the way through the crust to the pan before serving. It is excellent! Recipe can also be doubled for a cookie sheet size 'pizza'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I have been wanting to try one of these for sooo long, and what better time than summer? My guests were so impressed! My only suggestion is not to leave off the marmalade at the end, it makes the perfect glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenet_B
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
EXCELLENT!! Huge hit at the luncheon with the ladies. They all loved it. It's one of my favorite summer desserts. I added a few more varieties of fruit because tis the season for beautiful berries. Thanks for the tips! i will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I've made this beautiful dessert several times. Blueberries are awesome on it, as are other seasonal fruits. It's a crowd pleaser- and will get eaten quite fast at a potluck. Make sure to get a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States