Fancy Fruit Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sybil Smit
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe is like a simple tart using the store-bought cookie dough as quick and easy crust. The tartness of the fruit (I used fresh fruit, not canned) helps offset the sweetness of the cookie crust. The cream cheese layer is sweetened, but not too sweet. I adapted this recipe for a July Fourth party by doubling the recipe, baking it as a rectangle in a jelly-roll pan, and adding a layer of Cool Whip as the backdrop for the stars (blueberries) and stripes (strawberries). For fruit, I used a layer of thinly sliced FRESH pineapple and bananas over the cream cheese mixture. Then I spread Cool Whip over that fruit layer, and added the flag design using berries. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sybil Smit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Went over really well at a BBQ, but I didn't love it. I made my own cookie crust using the Mrs Fields Sugar Cookies on this site. I added a splash of orange extract to the cream cheese and I'll tweak it a tinge bit more next time. The cream cheese mix was okay, but needs something. Everyone else raved though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this to take to a family BBQ today. Very good. I only had peach preserves, so heated that up a bit w/ the water and once cooled down, used a pastry brush to put over all fruit. It made it quite shiny and pretty. I used strawberries, fresh pineapple, blue berries, raspberries, bananas and kiwi. Good and pretty!! Except for the kiwi in the very center, it was all red, white & blue for the 4th of July weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by holyoakwifey24
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this for my mother for mother's day, and she couldn't stop telling everyone about it! Wonderful recipe that's easy to twist and make your own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoakwifey24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I want to love this and I am going to experiment with it more...but as this recipe calls for It was just ok. It is pretty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is always a crowd pleaser and one of my family's favorite desserts. I made a couple of changes to suit us. I folded in an 8 ounce container of cool whip to the cream cheese mixture. I melted apple jelly (it's what I had on hand) in the microwave and cooled it slightly before brushing on the fruit. It makes the fruit all shinny and pretty Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing except used different fruits - I used fresh strawberries, a can of mandarin oranges, and cut up a fresh Gold pineapple. The Gold pineapple was by far the best fruit on the pizza. I wish I had covered the whole thing in pineapple it was that good! Delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was fan-tas-tic! I made this for Easter over at a friend's home and everybody loved it- nobody even touched the other desserts there! I followed the recipe exactly but used blackberries and extra strawberries instead of the banana and pineapple. This will be my new "go to" dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This fruit pizza turned out great, and my husband and I loved it. I do prefer making a homemade crust, but had some store bought sugar cookie dough to use, so I used that. The filling is perfect and the combination of fruit is great, a little sweet and a little tart with the kiwi and pineapple. The glaze made everything "shine", and I used apricot preserves instead of orange marmalade. I would definitely make this for a large crowd, as it makes a large pizza that starts to get soggy after the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I love this recipe it was simple and very delicious! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States