Fancy-But-Easy Mac N' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
this is a great recipe! I have made this recipe several times and always get great reviews- I omit the sugar and add fresh minced garlic to the mixture (two cloves) I have also made this a few times without the havarti and used whatever cheese I had in the fridge- still tastes great and is a fave not only with the little kids but the "big: kids as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is great for kids, especially those that don't like sharp cheeses. I didn't put in the sugar and I used Mozz, but it came out well. Kind of "velveta-y" but thats what kids like. Not grandma's home made but it's great for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Fantastic--it's a huge hit with my friends. I liked the recipe a lot as-is, however, I took some advice from the comments to improve it. I tried only putting in about 2 tbsp of the brown sugar, and didn't add any more salt than the soup + garlic salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have made this several times and each time was a big hit...I did half the brown sugar. Once I used generic soup...will not do that again. This was so good my sister put her steak away and had another serving of Mac and Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I just made this dish for a dinner party and it was a big hit. I was worried about the "processed" taste from the canned soup (as someone else mentioned) but with all the other cheeses in it, it was delicious. I only used 2 cans of soup because 3 seemed like a lot, but it can get dry, so I will use 3 next time. I also omitted the onion, and the brown sugar was subtle, not overpowering. The combination of 3 cheeses was so tasty, and it was just as good the next day. I would highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
We omitted the brown sugar for this recipe and took it to a potluck -- it won crowd favorite. I had to make it in advance so I popped it in the fridge for the day. When I pulled it out of the fridge, I put it in the oven cold and cooked according to recipe and it cooked perfectly. An easy recipe to make, a great dish to share and perfect to make in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe was just ok... I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I cut this in half for just my small family. Cutting it in half, the recipe then called for 1 1/2 cans cheddar cheese soup. I used 5 oz. fat free plain yogurt than open a second can and only use half. I did double the cheese, used garlic powder instead of garlic salt (canned soup is salty enough on it's own) and I added a little homemade chicken stock, as the macaroni and cheese was REALLY thick. We like a creamier and wetter macaroni and cheese. This was good, but I think it was better with my additions. It also would have been better without the brown sugar. Good base recipe. The havarti was a nice touch. OH! I did throw in some cubed turkey ham at the last minute, as the request of my two younger boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this last night for my poker game. Everyone loved it, so easy and relatively inexpensive to make, (the havarti cheese was high). I will make it again. I too was skeptical about the brown sugar but went with it, tho I didn't use as much as was called for, couldn't tell you how much I did use, I'm an old school cook rarely measure anything, but it worked. They are already asking for it for next weeks game....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineral Wells, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States