Fancy-But-Easy Mac N' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this recipe last weekend and was not impressed with it at all. I believe its the canned goods that completely ruin the mac and cheese experience and they taste extremely processed. My gf and I ate it because I made it but I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is very good. I had a bunch of cheese I needed to get rid of from a party and put it in this dish. I didn't have the cheese called for, but a mix of pepper jack, colby and swiss and it was awesome. Whenever I have cheese that's gonna go south if I don't do something with it, I will make this. I left out the sugar and did not miss it. The base of cheese soup is much easier than making a roux. I had two cans of cheddar soup and one can of nacho soup and that was great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I leave out the brown sugar like several other posters, add a little extra cheddar cheese, and my family devours it! It is certainly not the most healthy recipe, so I only cook it once or twice a year, but we love it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nadine
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Hey there - I'm the creator of the recipe. Thank you to everyone who have left a 5-Star review for me. I guess I should have been clear in the recipe that I like things sweet - even cheese! I put sugar in my spaghetti sauce too. If you don't have a sweet tooth like me - use less sugar or no sugar - pretty simple. I don't overly appreciate the people who have changed the recipe - omitting ingredients and then leaving me a poor review - it's not fair to make up your own recipe and then poorly grade mine - when it's not really my recipe that was created. On a side note - condensed soup does have a processed cheese taste - I suppose that's the difference between a quick and easy mac n' cheese and a more advanced one - if you don't like processed cheese - please keep that in mind. Again - thanks to everyone who have left postive reviews - they're greatly appreciated. Who knew something I mustered up with things in my kitchen would be such a hit!!!Cheers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The brown sugar ruins this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
On the advice of a few other reviews, I omitted the brown sugar as well (I'm more of a savoury fan than sweet). I used white old cheddar to put into the mix and reserved a cup of orange old cheddar for the top (a cup because 1/3 isn't enough to coat it). I also mixed the cheese that was to go on top with bread crumbs and fried french onions (half of a can). I added dabs of butter on top to make it golden. Then I added more french fried onions at the end before serving. I used Campbell's condensed cream of Cheddar Cheese soup. It's a touch on the salty side and there's MSG in it so there's no need to season with more salt. This was a big hit at home though. My husband said it was the best mac n' cheese he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Oh my Gosh, so good (and sooo easy!) My family loves this recipe, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made this for a cookout and it came out great. I did use less brown sugar and instead of Havarti I used a sharp cheddar cheese. Yum! Everyone raved about how creamy it stayed after being reheated later in the night and wanted the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was SOO good! The husband thought it was a little too sweet but I thought it was P-E-R-F-E-C-T! I added brown sugar ham and peas and used captavi (sp?) to make it more like a meal. The havarti and brown sugar really have a nice rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm always on the prowl for comfort food recipes and this is definitely amongst the simplest recipes for what the final outcome yields. The cheddar cheese soup saves you from having to make a roux and aside from shredding cheese, (which I think I have an aversion to) this recipe is requires very little labor. Additionally, this recipe is a fantastic start for adding customized options such as a can of diced jalapenos, which I recommend! The perfect complement to bbq chicken & a crunchy, cool salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States