Famous Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Okay, so I multiplied the recipe by six (so 24 servings), cut the flour in half and added some cumin. Then I measured everything (once combined) and came up with 18 TBL., which I then divided by 6. So.....add 3 TBL of mixture and one cup of water to 1 pound of hamburger. Here are the revised measurements: 3/8 cup flour 1/4 chili powder 3 TBL. dried minced onion 1 TBL salt 1-1/2 TBL crushed beef bouillon 1-1/2 tsp. white sugar 1-1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper 1-1/2 tsp. garlic powder 1-1/2 tsp. cumin 6 dashes onion powder Yummmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Much more sodium than Taco Seasoning 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I loved it and agree 1Tbls of flour is enough, and I also reduced the salt by half! My hubby said best tacos he has ever had!! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
simple seasonings come together for awesome flavor. this is my now go-to taco mix. we use ground turkey and the flour really helps absorb the far too not loose flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I've tried a few other taco seasoning mixes. This one I feel had the best flavour so far (I've tried 2-3 others to date), but I feel that the flour made the meat rather "gooey". Maybe a little more water or less flour would help. Also, not really sure why it needs the sugar in it. Sugar is one of those things that we consume so much of it already in commercially produced food, that I think next time I'll omit it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good. I added cumin and salted the meat rather than the seasoning and am very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Wow! I ran out of the store bought and made a half batch of this. I used it to make chicken nachos and they were better than I've made before. The flavors were wonderful and blended nicely. I didn't use sugar as I have to watch that stuff. I'm going to make a large batch and have it always on hand! Thank you Kel!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Loved by my boyfriend and I. I am never buying store bought taco seasoning again. Added the cumin as some people have commented
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Best ever! My daughter even prefers this over store bought (which is a miracle in and of itself!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really liked this, however the submitter said this can be made in bulk. If this is made in bulk, how much of the mix is used with 1 lb of ground beef? And how much water do you add to that 1 lb moisture as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States