Famous Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was an amazing dish. We loved it. We are always eating salty or spicy food. It was a great change for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was fantastic! We used frozen pineapple of which I weighed out 20 oz and added 1/2 cup of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. We also used the Aidell's chicken meatballs from Costco. For more color, I agree with another reviewer about using red and green bell peppers. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Van80
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I added my own personal touches to this. I did not use frozen meatballs. Meatballs were baked in the oven and then placed in the slow cooker with the pineapple sauce for 4 hours..it was amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Van80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very very good flavor! This is how sweet-and-sour should taste, in my opinion, vs the oversweet overprocessed red sauce so many try to pass off as sweet-and-sour. Be sure not to buy the Italian-seasoned meatballs, as I think they wouldn't work well here. I cut the green pepper in squares, like my old favorite Cantonese restaurant used to do. Otherwise I made no changes. I bet this would work well with chicken or pork also. The next time I make this though, I will 1.5 or 2x the amount of sauce. Very very good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
What a hit. I used a whole Green pepper, two small cans of pineapple chunks and one small of crushed (opened by accident, lol). Next time I plan to try fresh pineapple. I mixed some frozen Italian style and traditional meatballs in the slow cooker, about 4lbs worth. Note it takes a long time to cook from frozen, so allow an extra 30-60min if cooking them from frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Agree with using 2 cans of pineapple chunks to have more sauce. I also added ~1/3 cup of white vinegar and it was fantastic! Without it, the sauce is too sweet and the vinegar made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Family fav! Great alternative to traditional Christmas ham, for families that don't eat pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I thought this was quite good. I made two small changes one was to use pineapple tidbits in juice....wish I had taken note of the reviews and gotten it in heavy syrup though. I don't care for a big bite of pineapple so just preference on that but I believe the heavy syrup would have been better. Second was to add a handful of matchstick carrots to the sauce with the bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennard777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe is OK. Nothing to rave about. There is not enough sauce for the all the meatballs I had to make an extra batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I think I might add more spice or something to the meatballs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States