Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe which has all the components to create the unique flavor of restaurant style dressing, however, I tweaked a few things. As a few other people have mentioned, the peanut oil is KEY. Instead of soy sauce, I used Ponzu, a citrus infused soy sauce. I almost always use this in lieu of soy sauce because, to me, it simply just tastes MUCH better. Additionally, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, omitted the onions, and added about twice the amount of ginger, carrots, and celery. The added veggies give it a lot of texture which I personally enjoy. I'm always disappointed when I get this in a Japanese restaurant and the dressing is watery. I omitted the onions because I have a strong aversion to raw onions and when I made it with them previously, I found the flavor to be overpowering. The great thing about this recipe is it provides you the basic ingredients but you can always customize for personal taste. Have fun with it, let it sit overnight (if you can wait, this stuff is amazing), and enjoy! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe is great but I am only giving it 4 stars because I do not agree that it is like the Japanese Restaurant's salad dressing. To me, it was more like the sauce that is given at the hibachi to dip beef and veggies in (which I love - but it is not the same as the salad dressing). I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not have fresh ginger and had to substitute ground ginger. Was good on my salad, but I used the leftover dressing the next night to marinate steaks - and they were AMAZING! Just added a little Worcestershire sauce, let the steaks marinate for a few hours in the fridge, and then grilled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Its a great base to start with, for an amazing dressing!.. I followed everything for the most part, I used more fresh ginger root then called for, I had to use olive oil instead of peanut oil since I didn't have any. I didn't put any salt in mine, as I thought the soya sauce would be salty enough. I also added two chopped baby carrots, and appox 2 teasespoons of brown sugar, as I found the vinegar was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coronagirl89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Lovely. So refreshing........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Tastes just like salad dressing served at Japanese steakhouses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
add 2tbs of tahini , it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used some sesame seed oil, 1/4 cup, and 1/4 olive oil. Awesome!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Excellent! But try using honey instead of sugar and carrots instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading the reviews I tweak this recipe just a little . Used 3 cherry tomatoes and 1tbsp of ketchup. 1/4c of both peanut oil and sesame oil to create the 1/2c of oil. As suggested by others I used less onion. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This dressing is fantastic! I prefer it with extra ginger, garlic, and 1/4 cup shredded carrots for texture, but the recipe is also delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States