Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but it didn't taste like the Japanese dressing I'm used to. I'll keep looking. Love that it's quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and it's delicious! I do make changes to it now to try to make it a little healthier for us. Light flavor olive oil instead of peanut, honey instead of sugar, tamari soy sauce. Also this last time I made it, I didn't have a few items so had to make more changes. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. I also just added more vinegar instead of adding water. Celery seed instead of celery. And I used a red onion instead of a white. I think this really helped w/ the flavor some to make it less oniony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. As others have mentioned you will probably tweak to taste. We went out on a limb and substituted honey in place of sugar. It thickened the sauce and made it a bit silky - huge hit with the kids! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Added a bit more sugar as it was quite bitter, a few teaspoons of honey and some mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this dressing. I decide to try this recipe for a cold noodle salad (soba buckwheat) with julienne cabbage and cucumbers. There is a Restaurant here in JAX that serve it and I love it. With this dressing it get better than the restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe does need some tweaking, but it really is a winner! I have omitted salt, ketchup, honey, celery and water altogether because they are unnecessary. I used the white part of the green onion because it is milder than regular onion. Go easy on the ginger, a little goes a long way! Do not add salt! You will get plenty of salt content from the miso and sauces. The sweetness will come from the carrot and ginger. Mine came out a nice golden yellow color. Here is my version if you want to give it a try. Just combine all the following ingredients to your food processor until well blended and then refrigerate overnight: 1/2 c. green onion (white part only) - 1 bunch yields appx. 1/4 c. 2 cloves garlic 2 carrots Juice of one lemon 1 T. Gari - Japanese pickled ginger 1. T. Tahini - Ground sesame seed paste 2 T. miso soybean paste 2 t. fish sauce 2 t. Ponzu soy sauce - Soy sauce with citrus 1/2 c. peanut oil 1/3 c. rice vinegar 12 turns of pepper mill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Segel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Good dressing, but did not taste like the one served at the sushi restaurant near me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding and simple recipe. Excellent without modification, perfect if you add just a little shredded carrot in order to give it some extra sugar and texture. Don't expect miracles with dry, powdered or jarred substitutions. Fresh ginger, fresh garlic and fresh veggies are a must for this. I've made it with peanut, olive and avocado oil (depending on what I had in the cupboard) and it came out great each time. If you do add sesame oil, go light, it's very strongly flavored and anything more than a fractional teaspoon is going to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Came out great! Followed the recipe to a "T" and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is now our favorite salad dressing. It tastes virtually like the dressing at the nearby Japanese restaurant. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States