Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
B- OK and sufficient but def not the same as the one in the restaurant. Gets thick easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Almost perfect. It seemed a like it had a bit too much vinegar and more runny than restaurants serve so I added 1/4 cup may to it and it made it a little creamier. Then it was perfect. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
In a word AMAZING! Reminds me of Benihana, will make this over and over again, SO easy. Worked well for me, made it just like the recipe and everyone loved it. Tweek it all you want, it's still delicious. This recipe is a keeper. Laminate it. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this dressing. The amount of onion makes the dressing a bit "spicy" but I also think it gives it a good tangy flavor that goes well with the rice vinegar. Also, I really do not like the flavor of peanut or celery so instead of using peanut oil I used lighter flavor olive oil and instead of celery I used the same amount of carrots. Overall I think it turned out delicious and I cannot stop eating it when I make it! After sitting in the fridge it separates a bit because of the oil but still tastes just as delicious...then again I have only had it around long enough to last about 2-3 days its that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I couldn't tell whether I was suppose to use regular white onions or the asian onions. As I read other people's reviews about how overpowering the onion flavor was, i realized they must have used the wrong type of onion. You have to use the asian onion and what I would recommend using is the "white" part. My dressing came out perfectly. My guests and I will definitely make this again. The only thing I changed from this is that I did not add ketchup, I used a couple of small fresh tomatoes and didn't use rice wine vinegar but regular rice vinegar. It came out perfectly and very similar to the japanese restaurant dressings I'm accustomed to and love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very Yummy! I used Olive oil instead of peanut oil and did not have rice wine vinegar so i substituted regular vinegar instead. i also only did a 1/4 cup of vinegar. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Not exactly like the salad dressing I've had at numerous Japanese restaurants, although it is very close. It is more tangy and not as gingery, so perhaps reducing the rice wine vinegar and increase the ginger. Perhaps a little bit more sugar as well. Overall it is very good and will definitely make it again with some tweaks mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
THIS WAS GOOD. NICE AND FRESH TASTING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERSCOOPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is SO good. Sure its not an EXACT replica of the restaurant's dressing but that doesnt mean it isnt totally delicious! The changes I made: a little less onion, sub one tablespoon siracha instead of the second tablespoon of ketchup, a few extra teaspoons of sugar, some extra grated carrot and I used veg oil with a dash of sesame oil because I never use peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
great recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States