Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Definitely the closest recipe that I've tasted to the real steakhouse stuff, but I thought that the taste was slightly bitter. I used all fresh ingredients, and (after reading some reviews) I'm wondering if the ketchup had something to do with the slightly-off flavor. It's not so off that I wouldn't make it again, but I think I'd try with fresh tomatoes instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe is just what I was looking for - tastes just like the name implies - the delicious dressing you get before sushi. It's like a light 1,000 Island and it's best on day 2 - the onion and garlic mellow a bit. Also, I didn't bother with the sugar and it wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannkolb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is almost exactly like the Japanese restaurant salad dressing. I made a few adjustments though. When I made it I used about 2 tablespoons of fresh minced tomato (without seeds) instead of ketchup. I also included 1/2 capful of fishsauce. Next time I might just use the fish sauce instead of soy sauce. At first the consistency was very runny, and tasted a little flat. So I strained it a little bit, discarding about 1/3 - 1/2 cup of liquid. This fixed both the flavor and the consistency. I think it brought out the flavor of the spices a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I eat Japanese food like there won't be any tomorrow. my favorite thing is the ginger dressing you get in the restaurant, hence why i looked up this recipe and it was honestly better than some restaurant's dressing. I did make a good amount of changes, following others i use only 1/4 cup of onions and 1/4cup of distilled vinegar. I also use olive oil instead of peanut oil, pre-minced garlic, and low sodium soy sauce. I make this almost every week for lunch and dinner salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SourXPCandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Incredible dressing! I added a simple green salad, instant miso, and takeout sushi from the grocery store to put on the most elegant and easy weeknight dinner! It was so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I used shallots and omitted the celery, but otherwise made recipe exactly. It was pretty good, but not exactly like my favorite Japanese restaurant. It almost had a little to much ginger for me, but that could have been my heavy hand... I'm letting it sit in the fridge to re-try tonight.. that might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is great and actually better than the Benihana's now. We think they switched to a pre-made dressing, it's awful. Last time we went nobody even ate their salad. Tonight EVERYONE ate their salad and my youngest son slurrppppeedd the bowl! I like this one and all of my salad dressings very fresh. Make it and use it right away and all of the flavors are still bright and not muddled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Tasted just like the restaurant version! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was awesome. I used vegetable oil since I didn't have peanut oil, but I thought it was great. My favorite dressing from the sushi restaurant I like seems to have more "stuff" in it. I would like to figure out how to get that, but I can't complain about the taste. It is spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for. Even though I didn't have all the right ingredients, it still tasted fabulous and I could tell it would have tasted just like the dressing at Japanese restaurants if I hadn't needed to make the adjustments. I ended up eating two bowls of salad it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States