Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
If you are like me you are in search of that great salad dressing served in Japanese restaurants. This is NOT it. Sorry. I am so disappointed. This is a good recipe just not THE ONE. I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe is great! I loved the dressing they served at the Japanese restaurants and was really excited to try this. Instead of white sugar, I used 1 tablespoon of honey. Also, I added a touch of sesame oil and blended one carrot into the dressing for that gritty texture. One more thing: I added a bit more water to it so it wouldn't be so biting. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy &amp&#59; Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was a very tasty and easy recipe. I prepared everything in a food processor. I did use a few substitutions. I used canola oil instead of peanut oil and apple cider vinegar in place of rice wine vinegar. I also added a little extra ketchup to give it a slightly brighter color and extra tomato flavor (this is what we are used to from our local Hibachi Steak House). This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCrazyPam49

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This isn't as close as I'd hoped; there seems to be too much liquid - especially the oil and vinegar. It's much more tangy than the dressing at our sushi restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I don't know who "Marbalet" is, but I've just realized that I have more than a few of Marbalet's recipes stored in my Recipe Inbox... This recipe is excellent. I followed the recipe precisely and the result is a mild, complex but subtle blend of flavors that go exceptionally well with leafy lettuce salads. I will definitely make this whenever I have fresh ginger on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! It tastes even better than the dressing at Japanese steakhouses, it's creamier. I could eat this by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight. It was great!! I put everything into the food processor and blended it up. Tastes just like my local Sushi restaurant! i might put more ginger in next time- I am going to see how it tastes tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
yay! my sisters and I have been on a mission for a dressing like our fav sushi place for months, without any luck. I finally resolved myself that my only chance was to make it. This is almost identical to that dressing. SO good! Only made 2 changes and 1 was an accident. I forgot to get peanut oil so I used olive oil with a handful of crushed peanuts instead (it worked!). And I added an extra tb of ginger. yum!!!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee1229

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Definitely the closest recipe that I've tasted to the real steakhouse stuff, but I thought that the taste was slightly bitter. I used all fresh ingredients, and (after reading some reviews) I'm wondering if the ketchup had something to do with the slightly-off flavor. It's not so off that I wouldn't make it again, but I think I'd try with fresh tomatoes instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe is just what I was looking for - tastes just like the name implies - the delicious dressing you get before sushi. It's like a light 1,000 Island and it's best on day 2 - the onion and garlic mellow a bit. Also, I didn't bother with the sugar and it wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannkolb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States