Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I needed a good sesame ginger dressing & found this one. Only change I made was added 2 tsp of sesame oil & I tsp of honey to dressing mix instead of sugar. Turned out wonderful with a shrimp noodle recipe I had. (Cook 8 oz spaghettini al dente. Add 2 cups broccoli coleslaw mix, half cup minced cilantro, 1 lb of shrimp which I sauteed with olive oil & some ginger garlic & dash of soya sauce. Mix all this together in a bowl with 2/3 cup of this salad dressing. Refrigerate until needed. ) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
this tastes almost exactly like the dressing you get in a japanese restaurant. my suggestion is to do something that decreases the strong taste of onion just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very tasty! How long can I store this? Can I make a big batch and store for 2-3 days in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe. I did overdo the onion a bit by failing to measure and used olive oil instead of peanut as it was all I had on hand... and tit was still delicious. This is a wonderful, fresh-tasting dressing. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I really liked this recipe, pretty close to the Japanese Restaurant style. I did make a few changes to use what I had so I didn't have to go to the store, and to make it Gluten Free. I made a half batch, used a combo of sesame and olive oil instead of peanut oil (tastes great but the sesame is strong so go lighter on it), I added a whole carrot instead of the celery, and used lime juice instead of lemon, also used Gluten Free soy sauce and doubled the ginger (the piece I had wasn't very strong). Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The flavor is just like that famous Japanese restaurant, Benihana! The only thing that's a little off is the texture. It's a little thin so next time I'd leave out the water and maybe cut down the oil to 1/4 C. Otherwise it's perfect. I look forward to trying this again tomorrow after the flavors have blended in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent- just like salad dressing from Chinese restauants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jermyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
If you are like me you are in search of that great salad dressing served in Japanese restaurants. This is NOT it. Sorry. I am so disappointed. This is a good recipe just not THE ONE. I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe is great! I loved the dressing they served at the Japanese restaurants and was really excited to try this. Instead of white sugar, I used 1 tablespoon of honey. Also, I added a touch of sesame oil and blended one carrot into the dressing for that gritty texture. One more thing: I added a bit more water to it so it wouldn't be so biting. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy &amp&#59; Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was a very tasty and easy recipe. I prepared everything in a food processor. I did use a few substitutions. I used canola oil instead of peanut oil and apple cider vinegar in place of rice wine vinegar. I also added a little extra ketchup to give it a slightly brighter color and extra tomato flavor (this is what we are used to from our local Hibachi Steak House). This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCrazyPam49

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States