Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding and simple recipe. Excellent without modification, perfect if you add just a little shredded carrot in order to give it some extra sugar and texture. Don't expect miracles with dry, powdered or jarred substitutions. Fresh ginger, fresh garlic and fresh veggies are a must for this. I've made it with peanut, olive and avocado oil (depending on what I had in the cupboard) and it came out great each time. If you do add sesame oil, go light, it's very strongly flavored and anything more than a fractional teaspoon is going to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Came out great! Followed the recipe to a "T" and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is now our favorite salad dressing. It tastes virtually like the dressing at the nearby Japanese restaurant. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Tweaked the recipe based on other folks recommendations. Instead of peanut oil did sesame and olive oil mixed, and instead of celery I did carrots. It tasted great fresh, but after an evening in the fridge it tasted JUST like what you get at the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I honestly don't understand why people feel the need to change a recipe and rate based on changes. Make it the way it is stated. I have with this recipe and it is perfect! I have made this dressing consistently and the only thing I ever changed is the oil, and that is only because of what I had on hand.. Trust me, you will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I was so excited to make this recipe because my famliy loves the dressing at our local Japanese steak house. Unfortunately, this didn't taste a thing like it... I had read the reviews and had such high hopes. My daughter actually asked if it was a modified ceasar dressing. It was kind of a pain to make because it had so many ingredients and they required chopping. I guess I will keep looking "the real" Japanese dressing : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
If you make the changes that I did, it drops to 0 points plus per serving and maintains the same yummy flavor. As is, it's 2 points plus. I used a whole stick of celery, a packet of stevia instead of 2 tsp of sugar, Walden farms calorie free ketchup, and cut the oil to 1 T. I know, I changed it up quite a bit... I added 3 baby carrots for more orange color and crunch. Use quality soy sauce. Kikkoman Organic is my favorite. If you use Best Choice soy sauce, it is weird and gross. I like it on butter lettuce with sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It's pretty close to the classic Japanese restaurant dressing, I found that it was too heavy on the vinegar, and not as creamy as what I've had at restaurants. But after I added bit of mayonnaise and some more sugar, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Aweful! Tasted like onion and nothing more. In fact I wasted an entire bowl of salad on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe which has all the components to create the unique flavor of restaurant style dressing, however, I tweaked a few things. As a few other people have mentioned, the peanut oil is KEY. Instead of soy sauce, I used Ponzu, a citrus infused soy sauce. I almost always use this in lieu of soy sauce because, to me, it simply just tastes MUCH better. Additionally, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, omitted the onions, and added about twice the amount of ginger, carrots, and celery. The added veggies give it a lot of texture which I personally enjoy. I'm always disappointed when I get this in a Japanese restaurant and the dressing is watery. I omitted the onions because I have a strong aversion to raw onions and when I made it with them previously, I found the flavor to be overpowering. The great thing about this recipe is it provides you the basic ingredients but you can always customize for personal taste. Have fun with it, let it sit overnight (if you can wait, this stuff is amazing), and enjoy! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States