Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is Todd Wilbur's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but it didn't taste like the Japanese dressing I'm used to. I'll keep looking. Love that it's quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and it's delicious! I do make changes to it now to try to make it a little healthier for us. Light flavor olive oil instead of peanut, honey instead of sugar, tamari soy sauce. Also this last time I made it, I didn't have a few items so had to make more changes. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. I also just added more vinegar instead of adding water. Celery seed instead of celery. And I used a red onion instead of a white. I think this really helped w/ the flavor some to make it less oniony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. As others have mentioned you will probably tweak to taste. We went out on a limb and substituted honey in place of sugar. It thickened the sauce and made it a bit silky - huge hit with the kids! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Added a bit more sugar as it was quite bitter, a few teaspoons of honey and some mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this dressing. I decide to try this recipe for a cold noodle salad (soba buckwheat) with julienne cabbage and cucumbers. There is a Restaurant here in JAX that serve it and I love it. With this dressing it get better than the restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe does need some tweaking, but it really is a winner! I have omitted salt, ketchup, honey, celery and water altogether because they are unnecessary. I used the white part of the green onion because it is milder than regular onion. Go easy on the ginger, a little goes a long way! Do not add salt! You will get plenty of salt content from the miso and sauces. The sweetness will come from the carrot and ginger. Mine came out a nice golden yellow color. Here is my version if you want to give it a try. Just combine all the following ingredients to your food processor until well blended and then refrigerate overnight: 1/2 c. green onion (white part only) - 1 bunch yields appx. 1/4 c. 2 cloves garlic 2 carrots Juice of one lemon 1 T. Gari - Japanese pickled ginger 1. T. Tahini - Ground sesame seed paste 2 T. miso soybean paste 2 t. fish sauce 2 t. Ponzu soy sauce - Soy sauce with citrus 1/2 c. peanut oil 1/3 c. rice vinegar 12 turns of pepper mill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Segel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Good dressing, but did not taste like the one served at the sushi restaurant near me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding and simple recipe. Excellent without modification, perfect if you add just a little shredded carrot in order to give it some extra sugar and texture. Don't expect miracles with dry, powdered or jarred substitutions. Fresh ginger, fresh garlic and fresh veggies are a must for this. I've made it with peanut, olive and avocado oil (depending on what I had in the cupboard) and it came out great each time. If you do add sesame oil, go light, it's very strongly flavored and anything more than a fractional teaspoon is going to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Came out great! Followed the recipe to a "T" and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States