Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. Followed it nearly to the letter except I left out the Lemon juice as I didn't have any and I used a sweetener substitute instead of sugar (Splenda). This tasted pretty much identical to the dressing I get at my favorite Japanese restaurant. I did as others here suggested and didn't chop up anything, just let my food processor take care of it, but I did mince the ginger root so that I was certain it would incorporate well. My picky husband went crazy for it...great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great Japanese dressing recipe. I LOVE that everything in it is fresh. I used fresh tomato instead of ketchup as AnataniOne suggested and it was GREAT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was AMAZING my family loved it i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Way too much ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I made a half recipe for our small family. Like many reviewers I added some sesame seed oil for more asian taste. I agree with the reviewer who said to use fresh ingredients - not canned, dried, powdered, etc. I regret putting in the ketchup. It tasted much fresher without it. I tasted it before realizing I forgot to put it in. Next time I will use a little fresh tomato instead, or just skip it. I also added some grated carrot for extra texture but it was not needed. I threw in chunks of the onion and celery and used the small cup of the magic blender. BTW, if you are making a full recipe, use the larger cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but it didn't taste like the Japanese dressing I'm used to. I'll keep looking. Love that it's quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and it's delicious! I do make changes to it now to try to make it a little healthier for us. Light flavor olive oil instead of peanut, honey instead of sugar, tamari soy sauce. Also this last time I made it, I didn't have a few items so had to make more changes. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. I also just added more vinegar instead of adding water. Celery seed instead of celery. And I used a red onion instead of a white. I think this really helped w/ the flavor some to make it less oniony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. As others have mentioned you will probably tweak to taste. We went out on a limb and substituted honey in place of sugar. It thickened the sauce and made it a bit silky - huge hit with the kids! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Added a bit more sugar as it was quite bitter, a few teaspoons of honey and some mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this dressing. I decide to try this recipe for a cold noodle salad (soba buckwheat) with julienne cabbage and cucumbers. There is a Restaurant here in JAX that serve it and I love it. With this dressing it get better than the restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States