Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This dressing has a lot of great flavors in it that work well together...was only making a small amount and didn't want to pull out the blender, so just used onion powder, ground ginger, and skipped the celery. Quickly mixed the rest of the ingredients with a whisk and tossed with red leaf lettuce, grated carrot, and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Overall, this was a tasty dressing. It doesn't get 5 stars because I was expecting this to taste like the "famous" Japanese restaurant dressing. It comes close to the taste but it has a little zing that I haven't tasted in the restaurant dressing. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Tastes just like my favorite Japanese steak house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
For Weight Watchers...its 1 point per tablespoon. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This tasted exactly the way I expected it to...excellent! None of the ingredients are overpowering and blend together beautifully. My family loves the salad that comes with most Japanese restaurant meals and this dressing allows me to make it at home anytime we have a craving for it. I may add one more teaspoon of sugar next time just for personal preference. Thanks for submitting this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann Grover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Al Qurrayah, Northern, Bahrain
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe gets 4 stars, because it gave me the ingredients I needed to recreate my favorite dressing. The measurements, on the other hand were way off for me. Way too much vinegar! I used half soy sauce and half fish sauce. Buy the authentic (from the asian market) peanut oil, instead of the grocery store version. This is a wonderfully refreshing dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This tasted nothing like what I get at a Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oolitic, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
AMAZING!! This tasted just like the dressing at my favorite restaurant! I was looking for a creamy dressing.. but this is healthier and just as tasty! I accidently put too much soy sauce, so compensated with a little extra sugar to cut the saltiness. I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The taste and smell of raw onion was overpowering. I don't recall any Japanese restaurant using a salad dressing this strong. We ate is just once and didn't use the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was great. I used grapeseed oil because that is what I have. I did not add water or catsup. I added more celery and carrots to equal the celery. I also added a splash of toasted sesame oil. I made it in a food processor not a blender, and didn't really chop the ingredients first. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States