Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Tastes just like my favorite Japanese steak house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
For Weight Watchers...its 1 point per tablespoon. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This tasted exactly the way I expected it to...excellent! None of the ingredients are overpowering and blend together beautifully. My family loves the salad that comes with most Japanese restaurant meals and this dressing allows me to make it at home anytime we have a craving for it. I may add one more teaspoon of sugar next time just for personal preference. Thanks for submitting this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann Grover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Al Qurrayah, Northern, Bahrain
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe gets 4 stars, because it gave me the ingredients I needed to recreate my favorite dressing. The measurements, on the other hand were way off for me. Way too much vinegar! I used half soy sauce and half fish sauce. Buy the authentic (from the asian market) peanut oil, instead of the grocery store version. This is a wonderfully refreshing dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This tasted nothing like what I get at a Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oolitic, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
AMAZING!! This tasted just like the dressing at my favorite restaurant! I was looking for a creamy dressing.. but this is healthier and just as tasty! I accidently put too much soy sauce, so compensated with a little extra sugar to cut the saltiness. I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The taste and smell of raw onion was overpowering. I don't recall any Japanese restaurant using a salad dressing this strong. We ate is just once and didn't use the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was great. I used grapeseed oil because that is what I have. I did not add water or catsup. I added more celery and carrots to equal the celery. I also added a splash of toasted sesame oil. I made it in a food processor not a blender, and didn't really chop the ingredients first. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I really liked this recipe - I did substitute sugar for honey. I believe that it enhanced the flavors. I didn't have peanut oil, so I used canola. I will buy peanut oil to see if there is difference, but I thought it was still delicious. I don't normally measure ingredients, but with this one - it is more complicated and I would recommend measuring. At least until you make it a couple times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for!! Tasted just like the restaurant! Will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States