Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
after a little trial and error, half the onion and garlic (I used shallot 'cause I had it) and no added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was good. I added more carrots and I also added sesame oil, which I am not going to add next time, since it was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Too friggin' good! This is my staple salad dressing. I love the ginger dressing you get at Japanese restuarants and I'm glad I found this recipe - it is exactly what I was looking for. I didn't throw in the celery or ketchup (had none) and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsychicany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This recipe is good if you like onion. I am not a big onion fan, so I made some changes (and my husband told me this is as close as it can get to restaurant style) So instead of 1/2 cup of onion I put 1/4 cup of shallots and 1/4 cup of carrot. Plus instead of 2 tablespoons of ginger I put 4 tablespoons. The rest is the same. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made this last nite for a friend and I...we loved it! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just like at my fav Japanese Rest. Im making it again tonite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Dressing was very good. Pretty close to what I get in the restaurant but missing something. I added 1/2 a grated and then minced carrot. Didn't put that in the blender (you probably could). Also a little bit of sesame oil may have been good too at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I have been looking for a Japanese salad dressing since I went to the local Japanese restaurant. It has a distant taste store bought dressing can offer. When I found this recipe and read the review, I knew I had to try it out. I follow the recipe everything it says except the peanut oil. I use canola oil since I never buy peanut oil for cooking. It turned out just like the salad dressing I remember. Now, the search is OVER. Thank you for this easy and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The peanut oil is dead-on! I like the recipe but always make some modifications. I have not been able to make it taste exactly like my favorite restaurant dressing, but it's good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
YUM, YUM! All of these ingredience fit into my mini chopper. I didnt have to pull out the blender. (Though next time I will probably double the recipe when I have a dinner party)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Loved this dressing. Reminded me of our local japanese restaurants dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States