Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
after a little trial and error, half the onion and garlic (I used shallot 'cause I had it) and no added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was good. I added more carrots and I also added sesame oil, which I am not going to add next time, since it was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Too friggin' good! This is my staple salad dressing. I love the ginger dressing you get at Japanese restuarants and I'm glad I found this recipe - it is exactly what I was looking for. I didn't throw in the celery or ketchup (had none) and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsychicany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This recipe is good if you like onion. I am not a big onion fan, so I made some changes (and my husband told me this is as close as it can get to restaurant style) So instead of 1/2 cup of onion I put 1/4 cup of shallots and 1/4 cup of carrot. Plus instead of 2 tablespoons of ginger I put 4 tablespoons. The rest is the same. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made this last nite for a friend and I...we loved it! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just like at my fav Japanese Rest. Im making it again tonite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Dressing was very good. Pretty close to what I get in the restaurant but missing something. I added 1/2 a grated and then minced carrot. Didn't put that in the blender (you probably could). Also a little bit of sesame oil may have been good too at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I have been looking for a Japanese salad dressing since I went to the local Japanese restaurant. It has a distant taste store bought dressing can offer. When I found this recipe and read the review, I knew I had to try it out. I follow the recipe everything it says except the peanut oil. I use canola oil since I never buy peanut oil for cooking. It turned out just like the salad dressing I remember. Now, the search is OVER. Thank you for this easy and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The peanut oil is dead-on! I like the recipe but always make some modifications. I have not been able to make it taste exactly like my favorite restaurant dressing, but it's good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
YUM, YUM! All of these ingredience fit into my mini chopper. I didnt have to pull out the blender. (Though next time I will probably double the recipe when I have a dinner party)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Loved this dressing. Reminded me of our local japanese restaurants dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States