Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Dressing was very good. Pretty close to what I get in the restaurant but missing something. I added 1/2 a grated and then minced carrot. Didn't put that in the blender (you probably could). Also a little bit of sesame oil may have been good too at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I have been looking for a Japanese salad dressing since I went to the local Japanese restaurant. It has a distant taste store bought dressing can offer. When I found this recipe and read the review, I knew I had to try it out. I follow the recipe everything it says except the peanut oil. I use canola oil since I never buy peanut oil for cooking. It turned out just like the salad dressing I remember. Now, the search is OVER. Thank you for this easy and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The peanut oil is dead-on! I like the recipe but always make some modifications. I have not been able to make it taste exactly like my favorite restaurant dressing, but it's good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
YUM, YUM! All of these ingredience fit into my mini chopper. I didnt have to pull out the blender. (Though next time I will probably double the recipe when I have a dinner party)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Loved this dressing. Reminded me of our local japanese restaurants dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My son has been bugging me to make the dressing that we are served at Japanese restaurants. I found this and it is SO close! He went crazy for it. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds when serving for a bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Awesome recipe!! Just the flavor I was looking for. Very similar to my favorite restaurant's recipe! I used olive oil instead of peanut because that's what I had. I also didn't add celery because i didn't have any, but it still turned out GREAT. Will make again and again. Husband said it was "on point", lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is a great dressing...very close to what I get at my favorite sushi restaurant...but not quite the same, hence the 4 stars. I'll definitely keep this one handy to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Not sure where I went wrong, but this just did not meet my expectations. It was lacking in flavor, even after I played a bit with the seasoning. I also gave it time to "blend" by leaving it overnight with high hopes...I ended up tossing the left overs since after sitting it became a bit watery. My husband said if was "good," but it just wasn't my taste...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Most Japanese restaurants I've tried out seem to have their own version of this dressing. Some are great while others are not so much. So, I thought I'd give this recipe a try. It was my first time making any dressing. I have to say that this particular recipe is pretty good with a couple changes. I put in half the amount of onions called for, added 1 1/2 carrots, and a little extra sugar. I also let it sit overnight in the fridge as it didn't taste so great warm. After chilling overnight, it has a wonderful flavor and I can't wait to serve it to guests in the future. Thanks for posting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingMomma23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States