Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Too onion-y and not quite the light dressing I get at a Japanese restaurant. Added more celery and sugar to take away some of the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wonderful ! Our new favorite salad dressing... keep this recipe and laminate it !! I added a small carrot to give a bit more texture... you could probably do anything you want to the basic recipe and never ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
5 STARS!!!! One of the BEST dressings we have ever eaten!!! It's worth making...but I would make TWO batches because you will want leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I halved the recipe and subbed tomato paste for the ketchup. Really bright, fresh flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This incredibly fresh tasting dressing hits all the right flavor notes that one would expect from their favorite Japanese steakhouse. The texture is spot-on as well; the dressing clung to the lettuce leaves instead of pooling at the bottom of the salad bowl. A tasty topping for a simple salad with leftover grilled chicken, oranges and almonds. Thanks MARBALET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
B- OK and sufficient but def not the same as the one in the restaurant. Gets thick easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Almost perfect. It seemed a like it had a bit too much vinegar and more runny than restaurants serve so I added 1/4 cup may to it and it made it a little creamier. Then it was perfect. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
In a word AMAZING! Reminds me of Benihana, will make this over and over again, SO easy. Worked well for me, made it just like the recipe and everyone loved it. Tweek it all you want, it's still delicious. This recipe is a keeper. Laminate it. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this dressing. The amount of onion makes the dressing a bit "spicy" but I also think it gives it a good tangy flavor that goes well with the rice vinegar. Also, I really do not like the flavor of peanut or celery so instead of using peanut oil I used lighter flavor olive oil and instead of celery I used the same amount of carrots. Overall I think it turned out delicious and I cannot stop eating it when I make it! After sitting in the fridge it separates a bit because of the oil but still tastes just as delicious...then again I have only had it around long enough to last about 2-3 days its that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I couldn't tell whether I was suppose to use regular white onions or the asian onions. As I read other people's reviews about how overpowering the onion flavor was, i realized they must have used the wrong type of onion. You have to use the asian onion and what I would recommend using is the "white" part. My dressing came out perfectly. My guests and I will definitely make this again. The only thing I changed from this is that I did not add ketchup, I used a couple of small fresh tomatoes and didn't use rice wine vinegar but regular rice vinegar. It came out perfectly and very similar to the japanese restaurant dressings I'm accustomed to and love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States