Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I made this recipe with my sister one day for fun and they were excellent! They tasted just like the Almond Joy candybars. It took a while for the chocolate on the top to set; however, a half hour or so in the fridge seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
OK....so I just ate one of these and WOW!! I love them...they are supposed to be for tomorrow for Fathers Day, but I couldn't resist. They taste just like Almond Joy bars! I used the 4c. of coconut, increased the Karo syrup to 1/3c. and added 1tsp. of coconut ext. to that mixture. I used Hershey's semi-sweet chips, (may try dark chips next time) and only 1 tblspn. of shortening (which I thought was more than enough). I also did wizz the coconut through my food processor for a few seconds for a finer texture as another reviewer suggested. They were easy to roll and form into little mounds. I did freeze them for about 30 minutes and re-formed them so I didnt have any coconut pieces hanging. Delicious! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I loved these and they were so easy to make! I had a little bit of trouble with the coconut mixture sticking to my hands so I rubbed a little bit of crisco between them and that did the trick. I also chilled the coconut balls it the freezer after the 2nd time I rolled them because I wanted to dip them in the chocolate and I was worried they might fall apart. Worked like a charm! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I increased the corn syrup since the coconut mixture looked too dry to form into balls. Once I started rolling them up, I realized it probably wasn't necessary. As for the finished product, I thought there wasn't enough coconut flavor. If I make these again, I'll probably add some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
After you pour in the hot corn syrup, let it set a little bit to cool. The coconut will hold its shape better. If you find it doesn't hold together, wait a little longer. Firm the balls up in the freezer, and use a fork to dip them in the chocolate. I used butter instead of shortening, and I used 1/2 cup in the chocolate to get a runnier consistency, it made dipping much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were very yummy! I thought I would try to roll the coconut/corn syrup mixture into a log and try cutting them after taking them out of the freezer. I ended up just rolling them into balls anyway! It's the only way to do it. I do recommend sticking the coconut mixture in the freezer for a bit tho, it did help to keep it stiff. I also added 1/3 cup corn syrup and a whole bag of coconut. I dipped the balls and lifted them out with a fork. Just lay the almond on top right after you dip and they stay nicely. I put them in goodie bags, no problem with the almonds coming off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Photo by feb2772
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These are as good if not better than Almond Joy. I rolled them into logs, and dipped them in tempered milk chocolate (I didn't use the shortening) and topped them with a whole almond. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feb2772

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
These are delicious!! Only thing I did wrong was make them bigger than it said too - definently stick with the 1 tblsp. coconut, otherwise it makes for too much coconut even with more chocolate. I suppose if you flattened the coconut like Almond Joy bars are you could get away with it. They definently do taste like the real thing after I took some coconut out, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Wow!!! These were much easier than I thought they'd be and look great in addition to being delicious! I made three batches in a row - the first one was a breeze, the second batch was some trouble and the third batch was almost impossible. My theory is that the coconut got progressivly dryer as it sat out. DO NOT LET THE COCONUT GET DRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Tasted just like the real thing. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States