Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
messy to make, but everyone Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
After you pour in the hot corn syrup, let it set a little bit to cool. The coconut will hold its shape better. If you find it doesn't hold together, wait a little longer. Firm the balls up in the freezer, and use a fork to dip them in the chocolate. I used butter instead of shortening, and I used 1/2 cup in the chocolate to get a runnier consistency, it made dipping much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very easy to make. I added slivered almonds to the center by making an indent and then rolled mixture around it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Very easy recipe and look so impressive. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I loved these and they were so easy to make! I had a little bit of trouble with the coconut mixture sticking to my hands so I rubbed a little bit of crisco between them and that did the trick. I also chilled the coconut balls it the freezer after the 2nd time I rolled them because I wanted to dip them in the chocolate and I was worried they might fall apart. Worked like a charm! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I increased the corn syrup since the coconut mixture looked too dry to form into balls. Once I started rolling them up, I realized it probably wasn't necessary. As for the finished product, I thought there wasn't enough coconut flavor. If I make these again, I'll probably add some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Yummy! I didn't like the bottom uncoated so after they cooled I turned them over and coated the bottom! I'll definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCFW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe A LOT! I used a bit more corn syrup to make the coconut stick together better. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These were great! I put the cookie sheets with coconut balls in the freezer to help set up, they were SO easy to roll the 2nd time after being in the freezer, BUT the chocolate set up way fast when poured onto them being that cold. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cache Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Very yummy and just like my favorite candy bar. I was pleasantly surprised with how quick you can make them and how easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States