Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Taste just like the famous brand. I did put the almond on before I dipped it in chocolate. It worked out great. I did have to put them in the freezer before dipping into the chocolate. Also, I let the chocolate cool just a bit. Dipping leaves them perfect with chocolate all around and no little chocolate tails etc. These were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
OK....so I just ate one of these and WOW!! I love them...they are supposed to be for tomorrow for Fathers Day, but I couldn't resist. They taste just like Almond Joy bars! I used the 4c. of coconut, increased the Karo syrup to 1/3c. and added 1tsp. of coconut ext. to that mixture. I used Hershey's semi-sweet chips, (may try dark chips next time) and only 1 tblspn. of shortening (which I thought was more than enough). I also did wizz the coconut through my food processor for a few seconds for a finer texture as another reviewer suggested. They were easy to roll and form into little mounds. I did freeze them for about 30 minutes and re-formed them so I didnt have any coconut pieces hanging. Delicious! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These are very good candies-just like an Almond Joy that you buy at the store. I only got 22 "logs" from this recipe, I was hoping it made more. BEST REVIEWER RECOMMENDATION: Food process the coconut to make smaller flakes, and re-roll after placing balls in fridge. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Photo by feb2772
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These are as good if not better than Almond Joy. I rolled them into logs, and dipped them in tempered milk chocolate (I didn't use the shortening) and topped them with a whole almond. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feb2772

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
There is something wrong here. The chocolate tasted funny to me with so much shortening. 1/4 a cup seems to be too much. I think 1 or 2 TBS would be plenty. Also the flaked coconut should be chopped up in a food processor and I think it could have used a bit more corn syrup. Maybe 2 more TBS would do the trick. "Rolling the coconut into balls" wouldn't be the phrase I would use it is more like squeezing the coconut into balls. My husband really liked them, I didn't. I might try again with the changes I think it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I used coconut oil instead of shortening to the chocolate which added more of a coconut taste (which I love!). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This candy is wonderful. I used some tips and oiled my hands before trying to roll the coconut. I also put the flakes in my blender and ground them to make them more "user friendly". That worked well. I used another readers tip and chilled them before trying to roll them again. Priceless. Before putting the chocolate on them I put the balls in my mini muffin pans. After adding the melted chocolate I chilled them again. I then turned them over, added chocolate to the other side and put the almond on top. They were oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These were great for our Holiday gift tins! After reading the other reviews, I put the coconut balls in the freezer for five minutes before re-rolling. I found that it was actually a little easier to squish the coconut into balls then roll them. I also let them dry completely then put an extra coat of chocolate on them, to make them a little prettier. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was a huge hit. I made it for a baby shower and everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I thought this recipe was fun to make use some of the advice from others and use dark chocolate chips. Yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomtoAGBGCGDR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States