Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These taste really good, just like a bounty bar. I had to use more corn syrup to get the coconut to stick though, probably used 1/3 cup total. I also didn't use any shortening in the chocolate, I used 2 tablespoons of coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were good but I have other recipes I enjoy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I prepared this recipe as written and found that I needed more corn syrup to make the coconut stick together. I ended up using about 1/3 cup of corn syrup. Forming the coconut/corn syrup in to balls wasn't as easy as I anticipated I followed the directions for topping with chocolate. Next time, I will attempt to dip the candy in the chocolate to get better coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These are really good! I made them for my 8 yo, who just discovered his favorite candy bar is Almond Joy. I made as directed but could not get the coconut mixture to hold together. I put the mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes and this did the trick. Instead of spooning the chocolate over them, I dipped them right in the chocolate but had quite a bit left over when I was done. I had 26 candies as the recipe stated so probably only half of the coating mixture was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good - but I agree with others before me; it needed more corn syrup. I added extra but I think I could have still added more - almost double. I pushed the almond into the middle of the balls and it turned out beautifully. I will definately make these again - only with the extra corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made these for Christmas. I had a hard time getting them to maintain their shape but all the coconut lovers enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These need almond extract or something plus the bottoms do not get covered in chocolate. I had to melt more chocolate and dip the bottoms in it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
my husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, Utah, USA
Living In: La Verkin, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These are really fun too make. And they are really easy. I used a small cookie scoop to mold the coconut, I couldn't get the coconut to come out of the Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
These were okay. I halved the recipe, to make less, I got 16 balls out of it. I thought they tasted good, but the kids did not like the texture. They were a little grainy on the inside. Even though I did grind the coconut flakes as per other reviewers' advice, the filling was still not smooth enough. It never became nice and pasty like the storebought kind. For the glaze, I did not use shortening, because I prefer using natural butter. It was a bit stiff, so I added some warm whipping cream to it, and turned it into ganache, which worked perfectly for dipping the balls in it. I did chill the balls beforehand to make them stiffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States