Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Amazing. Just like the "famous" candy bar. Anyone who loves coconut will love these. I made some with a whole almond, and some topped with slivered almonds. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this works better if you add powdered sugar. and I use almond bark for the coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe delivers a delicious product, but plan on getting plenty messy when making the balls. Pouring the chocolate over the balls also does not allow for the ball to become fully covered, but if you don't mind the mess or the look of these little gems, the recipe is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were very yummy! I thought I would try to roll the coconut/corn syrup mixture into a log and try cutting them after taking them out of the freezer. I ended up just rolling them into balls anyway! It's the only way to do it. I do recommend sticking the coconut mixture in the freezer for a bit tho, it did help to keep it stiff. I also added 1/3 cup corn syrup and a whole bag of coconut. I dipped the balls and lifted them out with a fork. Just lay the almond on top right after you dip and they stay nicely. I put them in goodie bags, no problem with the almonds coming off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I used extra dark chocolate chips and dry roasted almonds. I really didn't have much of an issue making these, though it did take me a while to get the hang of it. I took several other reviewers advice and stuck the little tablespoon portions in the freezer for a touch so that they'd be easier to work with, I think that was a step that should have been added to the directions. The coconut mixture was a pain to work with UNTIL I took them out of the freezer. I did press the almond into each "ball", then I covered it with chocolate, like one of those packaged candies. I found that if I used a fork to hold the candy and spooned the chocolate over the candy, it was a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have no idea how many stars to give this candy. I loved the idea but.... lordy what a mess I had. The coconut would NOT stick together after I poured the syrup over it. I put them (messy) balls in the freezer and then rolled them again, but by the time I was ready to pour the chocolate over them....they'd begun to fall apart again. Perhaps I should have read more review. Sounded like a great idea but sure didn't work for me. They taste good but were not 'gift able' which was what I'd hope to do.... add them to my Christmas cookie assortment that I give to friends and family. I'll try again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are very good and easy if you stick them in the freezer after dividing into 1 tablespoon quantities. I think next time I will divide into smaller quantities. I think there was a little too much coconut per chocolate ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I just made these a little while ago and they turned out pretty good. They're a bit grainy but that was my fault...I forgot to heat my corn syrup (with 2 6 year old girls running around I can't imagine why lol). They still taste awesome and turned out well otherwise. I did do a couple of other things differently (and successfully lol). I chopped my coconut in the food processor as well as my almonds and mixed them in with everything so I didn't have to worry about individually putting them on but still get the crunch & flavor. I also added a little coconut and almond extract for extra flavor and had to add a little more corn syrup since I added the nuts in the mix. I used a domed, silicone covered teaspoon and packed it and scooped it out with a spoon which eliminated the messy hands. After that, I dropped them in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes which made the 2nd rolling MUCH easier. I also used a double broiler and dipped them in the chocolate for better coverage and less mess. I'll try these again some other time when I can focus a lil better and hopefully make them correctly. Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are great. They taste just like a Mounds or Almond Joy. I made half of mine without almonds. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Another poster mentioned needing to add coconut extract, but I thought this was plenty coconutty without it. It's hard to form the coconut into balls the first time (I did pulse the flakes in my food processor a few times before mixing them in just to make the pieces smaller and less likely to stick out). I sprayed my hands with Pam and that helped a little, but I worried that these would be a disaster. The second rolling is key. They were much tighter, well-formed balls after that. I rolled them in the chocolate, but I recommend just putting them on wax paper instead of putting them on cooling racks. The chocolate solidified around the wires and made the coconut balls hard to remove. EDITED TO ADD: Wow. I made these again today and it was a disaster. I did everything exactly as I had before, just as the recipe said. The balls would not stay together even after a third roll. No room in the freezer to firm them up. Once I got the chocolate on them they were still falling apart. They look terrible and I will not be putting these out for holiday guests. : ( Bummer! I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Taste just like the real thing (Almond Joys)! Rolling the balls of coconut was sticky/icky but it didn't take long and the end results were very good. I made mine in small foil candy cup liners and they look terriffic. Thanks for the recipe Saundra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States