Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it for work and got rave reviews. The only modifications I made included setting the almond on top of the ball and then spooning the chocolate over it so it's more like the famous bar. I also used milk chocolate as that's my preference and I added a few drops of almond extract flavoring. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Yummy! Tastes like a Mounds candy! It was a bit messy but well worth the effort...as in previous reviews-make them SMALL. I did have trouble keeping the mix together but I will make a bigger effort...these will be wonderful for christmas candies...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Yummy! All my guests liked them. I used a 14oz. bag of coconut, which was maybe a little more than 4 cups. I think I should have added a little more Karo syrup too because I found it difficult to keep the coconut in the ball shapes, even though I rolled them twice per the recipe. I made about 35 balls, keeping them small as other reviewers suggested. I used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. The bottoms did not get chocolate coated as I expected when I poured the chocolate over the coconut (not too much candy experience here!), but it worked out fine--the balls lifted easily off the rack when they were set. It was a humid day, so they set up best after 30 minutes in the fridge. Just like mini Almond Joys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very easy and tasty! Put them in little paper candy cups and they looked tres fancy! Be sure not to make them too large, though. I think the smaller the better (as long as they are large enough to put a whole almond on).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Wow!!! These were much easier than I thought they'd be and look great in addition to being delicious! I made three batches in a row - the first one was a breeze, the second batch was some trouble and the third batch was almost impossible. My theory is that the coconut got progressivly dryer as it sat out. DO NOT LET THE COCONUT GET DRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I too made the balls to big but oh well they were good anyways...LOL. Relatively easy to make, A litle sticky when you roll by hand. Next time I'll double the recipe cause they go really quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
These were very good, but I, too, made them too big. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet just because I prefer the milk chocolate. We shaped them like eggs for our Easter celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
These are delicious!! Only thing I did wrong was make them bigger than it said too - definently stick with the 1 tblsp. coconut, otherwise it makes for too much coconut even with more chocolate. I suppose if you flattened the coconut like Almond Joy bars are you could get away with it. They definently do taste like the real thing after I took some coconut out, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Tasted just like the real thing. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I made this recipe with my sister one day for fun and they were excellent! They tasted just like the Almond Joy candybars. It took a while for the chocolate on the top to set; however, a half hour or so in the fridge seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States