Famous Coconut-Almond Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are pretty delicious! I made a double batch as Christmas gifts for the neighbors. As others have suggested, the second rolling of the coconut balls is key, and I found that having wet hands helped with the process. I used a bag and a half of chocolate chips to coat the balls. I actually had better luck using the store brand chips - they seemed to melt into a runnier chocolate that coated the balls easier. Probably due to the higher oil content or whatever. I only had a few balls fall apart out of 55, so I would say this is a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These were good but a little dry. Next time I will add more corn syrup and also run the coconut through the food processor. The coconut was just too coarse. Also next time I will use milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. With these changes this recipe would definitely rate five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These are good. One tip to help with the stickiness when rolling the coconut into balls: rub a thin layer of shortening on your hands before you get started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Simple recipe. Next time I will make them more bite-sized. Party pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were really good and tasted just like the almond joy bars I like. I made mine a little too big, so the coconut was a little too much, but that's the only thing I'll change for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ortegacrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Delicious and easy. A bit time consuming, but that is to be expected. Everyone loves them, including me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very good, and easy to make! I love coconut so whenever I'm craving it again, I'll know what to make, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good and very easy recipe! I made these for Easter and used crushed Jordan Almonds on top in place of the almond for a more colorful presentation. I can't wait to make them again and possible used chopped almonds in the chocolate. I had to add a bit more corn syrup to the coconut to get the eggs to shape better. I also froze the coconut eggs for about 30 min. before dipping in the chocolate. They tasted fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've always been bothered that Almond Joy candies, unlike Mounds, are made with milk chocolate, rather than dark. With these, I was able to melt premium dark chocolate to coat them and have the best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Okay, here's a brief breakdown of my tips on this recipe: 1) Use shredded coconut instead of flaked. I don't know if you can put flaked coconut in the blender or food processor to grind it up but if you can, do it. 2) I used 8oz of corn syrup (half a 16 oz bottle) for this amount of coconut. I also didn't bother cooking the corn syrup, I just drizzled it into the mixer bowl of coconut while the mixer was running. 3) Don't make them too big. 4) I toasted my almonds. 5) Chill the coconut balls before dipping in chocolate 6) To dip them in chocolate, I used two forks. I dropped them into the chocolate upside-down, then used the two forks to pick up the candy, turn it over to make sure the sides were coated, then I raised the candy up tilted slightly to the side to drain off the excess without compromising a smooth texture on the top. Then I placed them on a parchment-lined baking sheet to harden. 7) After the chocolate dip has hardened, DO IT AGAIN. Once is really not enough to get a good thick chocolate shell. 8) Oh, almost forgot-- I didn't bother with the shortening. Pure chocolate was all I needed-- these do NOT last long. They really do taste just like the candy bar. AWESOMENESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States