Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
They edited the recipe. It's actually easier than they say... You don't have to remove the chicken from the pan after you've browned it. Just leave it in, add the onions, etc and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My Filipino family's chicken adobo recipe is very similar. We use 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1 cup water, 2 bay leaves, and omit pepper. A generous seasoning of granulated garlic can also be used in place of garlic cloves. A nice variation is also adding a little ground ginger. Delicious over steamed white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I have been making this recipe for a while and I make it with some slight variations. I have never added the garlic powder or pepper. I just brown the chicken, add the garlic and onion and then put in equal parts white vinegar, low sodium soy sauce, and water (start with 1 c each...use enough to cover the chicken in the pot). Then I let it simmer for an hour. It is AWESOME! If you haven't tried chicken adobo, it is a must and this recipe won't steer you wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFBOYOSARAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Im a Filipino and proud that the #1 Filipino dish got a good reviews.Try to marinate the chicken with soy sauce and vinegar overnight or few hours before cooking.My mother always do this(marinate).It taste better.Me and my Filipino friend cook this and put a whole lot of onions and peppers.We both sniffing while eating coz its too spicy and thats the way we like it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
If you don't like tangy, don't make this. It's very tangy, and yes, authentic Filipino adobo doesn't have sugar in it, but Chinese-Filippino versions do - usually rock sugar, 1-2 star anise and coconut milk is sometimes added. These additions definitely soften out the strong vinegar flavor. I always use equal parts vinegar/soy sauce and add about 4-5 tablespoons brown sugar and appx. 1/3 cup coconut unsweetened coconut milk. Or else it's fine without the coconut too. I would definitely use only dark meat for this dish, since chicken breasts dry out too quickly and make even worse left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My mother-in-law (a filipina) likes to make her Adobo slightly sweet. This recipe is nice and saucy unlike my MIL's. So, I added about 1 tsp. of sugar. It was perfect! I'm going to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Very easy recipe and the family enjoyed it! The only thing I would change next time is a little more onion and a little less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was delicious. The only things I changed in the recipe is I added 1 tsp of sugar and used bone-in chicken thighs. My family absolutely loved the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
If you like soy sauce, this is the dish for you. That was pretty much all my husband and I tasted. As one reviewer commented, it's pretty salty even with low-sodium soy sauce. It's not a terrible dish, but the flavor is one dimensional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Delicious and easy. It seemed kind of silly to put in fresh garlic and then add garlic powder, so I just used about 8 cloves of garlic and added it with the onion. I used almost 5 lbs of chicken I think (leg quarters) and there was plenty of sauce to go around. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States