Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My mother-in-law (a filipina) likes to make her Adobo slightly sweet. This recipe is nice and saucy unlike my MIL's. So, I added about 1 tsp. of sugar. It was perfect! I'm going to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was pretty good, I made it for a friend from Asia. I think next time I would cut back just a little bit on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
They edited the recipe. It's actually easier than they say... You don't have to remove the chicken from the pan after you've browned it. Just leave it in, add the onions, etc and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very good. We'd never had it before, so had nothing to compare to as far being authentic, but it was very good. Very easy, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I have been making this recipe for a while and I make it with some slight variations. I have never added the garlic powder or pepper. I just brown the chicken, add the garlic and onion and then put in equal parts white vinegar, low sodium soy sauce, and water (start with 1 c each...use enough to cover the chicken in the pot). Then I let it simmer for an hour. It is AWESOME! If you haven't tried chicken adobo, it is a must and this recipe won't steer you wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFBOYOSARAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very good recipe and very easy to make. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was a pretty yummy dish. I will lower the amount of garlic powder I use next time, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Delicious and easy. It seemed kind of silly to put in fresh garlic and then add garlic powder, so I just used about 8 cloves of garlic and added it with the onion. I used almost 5 lbs of chicken I think (leg quarters) and there was plenty of sauce to go around. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make and entire family ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Famous Butter Chicken

See how to make moist, tender breaded and baked chicken.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States