Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and son loved it and said it was "a keeper". Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found the vinegar in this recipe to be extremely overpowering. I had to add water and sugar to cut it. After the additions, it was much better and my husband liked it a lot but I'm not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for the first time this week. We both enjoyed it. I followed a couple of different suggestions from other reviewers (lowered amt. of vinegar, added coconut milk to the sauce and cooked the jasmine rice with a combination of coconut milk and water). The next time I make it I think I will finish it with a few chopped peanuts or cashews. This might not be traditional but I think I would have enjoyed the texture of some nuts. I've filed it away in my "Quick and Easy Dinner" folder. Those are the best recipes: quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe! Couldn't believe how simple it was to make. I thought it might be too spicy with so much pepper and garlic--but was tasty-not hot at all! Husband and granddaughter loved it also! I made it with thighs because that was what I had on hand. (I skinned them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Easy, fantastic, delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very similar ot the way my Philippino wife makes it. I still prefer her method though which uses 1-2 TBS whole peppercorns that are cracked and she throws in a hot banana pepper or two to give it a little bit of a hot kick along with the spice. As for the onion and fat debates, I prefer having them in there to accent the flavor and add richness to the dish. But I give it a 4 star at written. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradlmil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ami  Herrmann
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was great! My husband loved it! I added a cup of water and a teaspoon of sugar because I was afraid it would be too salty (as mentioned in some reviews) but it was really good. He deemed it "Make againable". This was a nice change to boring chicken. And it was so easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami  Herrmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow! So, so good!! A bit spicy bc of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I was really excited to try these as they had great reviews and looks super easy. I made this recipe according to the recipe with no changes. They were spicy, salty, and nothing extraordinary. Just average. I'll be deleting the recipe from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My variations include adding a shot of sherry, a tablespoon or two of sugar and a piece of star anise along with the soya sauce and water. Cook that up and the flavour is far from bland, plain or just salty. For colour my dad used to add chunks of carrot and let that cook along. If you want to thicken it, add a bit of cornstarch (1 tsp or so) disolved in water, and bring to a final boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States