Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
To lighten this up a bit to fit my weight loss program, I used skinned chicken leg quarters and did not brown them first in any oil. I only used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 2/3, and increased the bay leaves to 4. This smelled wonderful while it was cooking, and the sauce cooked down to a thick glaze. I served the chicken with braised baby bok choy and a cucumber mango salad. Dinner was absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Great flavor! I followed the recipe as instructed, with one small change. My daughter does not like chicken bones, so I used boneless chicken breasts cut up into small pieces. Adjusted the cooking time down a little to compensate for no bones, and it's fabulous! Thinking of making this at our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Youngreen Weihe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
2 Things, you don't need onion with the garlic, and you left out the fresh (sliced into thin pieces) Ginger Root. Also take out Bay leaf and strain broth of Ginger before adding to Chicken and rice. Other than that very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne D Kisela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was great! We have had it several times, now; and it always comes out great. The original way and some of the suggested ways, also. It's always good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Delicious! Close to my dad's recipe who is Filipino. We add the juice of 1/2 lemon, sometimes pork on the bone, or some firm chopped up bean curd (tofu). You can also use apple cider vinegar in place of white. Savory and soothing over fresh cooked white rice. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great hit at our house! I didn't have a whole chicken so I cut up 4 chicken breasts, used 5 minced garlic cloves, 1/4 large onion sliced, a little less than 2/3 cup soy sauce (because I did not have low-sodium) and added chicken broth to dilute the soy sauce and to make more of a sauce and I served it over white rice. My husband loved it, it's' his favorite thing that I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kfaro07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Selma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong here, but despite using low sodium soy sauce, all we could taste was salt. It was so overpowering I couldn't finish my portion. I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'm a Filipino but I can't seem to get the right proportions on my adobo. I followed this recipe the other day and it was wonderful!!! I LOVE it! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
wasn't a huge fan--there seemed to be way too much soy sauce. I also feel the recipe name should have some type of reference to the Filipino adobo vs. the traditional Spanish adobo. Very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Easy to make and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States