Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Easy enough to make, but it needs a bit of tweaking. The taste of soy sauce and vinegar are overpowering even after adding the 5 tablespoons of brown sugar suggested by other reviews. I used chicken breast cut into tenders and cut the time down to 30 minutes. They came out very tender and flavorfull, just not an enjoyable flavor. If I try again I will cut the soy sauce down and see if that helps, not sure what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My mother made this with equal parts soy sauce and vinegar, and no onions. The chicken was first cooked in the marinade and after it was fully cooked and tender (about 45 min), pan fried briefly in coconut oil, before adding back the sauce and heating through. I imagine many non-Filipinos would find this too salty, but remember that traditionally adobo is eaten with bland steamed rice, so the taste evens out. If preferred it would be easy enough to reduce the soy sauce/vinegar mixture and increase the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was really good. I used 1/2 cup of soy and 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar because it's what I had and what I thought would suit my family's taste. Skipped the garlic powder and used a ton of fresh garlic. The four chicken thighs I used were so tender they fell off the bone after about 6 hours in the crock pot. I added some red bell pepper and green cabbage for color and veggies, it was a really good combination. Served over jasmine rice-yum. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I mixed all the ingreadients in a large bowl and marinated the (skinless) chicken for several hours first. I also upped the liquids by double as I like to thicken the sauce later, making a rich gravy. After the chicken has marinated I put it dry - flash fry it in oil (to brown it) then add back all the liquids and cook as normal. Additionally I add 3-4 Tablespoons of whole green peppercorns. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a little different than the way my lola used to make it but it was still good. It was a little salty even with the low sodium soy sauce as some reviews have stated. I just added a little more vinegar to it and it was good. All in all a good dish :) If you don't like it as tangy my lola would add a can of sprite to sweeten it up much better than sugar in my opinion lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Hubby said this was the best chicken adobo I have ever made! The entire family loved it! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe is pretty good base because it has the perfect measurements for the soy sauce and vinegar. I just don't cook the chicken first. I do saute the onions and garlic with cooking spray and then add the chicken without skin and then add then add the soy sauce, vinegar and water and season with black pepper. No need for add'l garlic powder because the soy sauce is enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made this recipe for 100+ people (just used the recipe calculator to increase the measurements to serve 108!). I followed the suggestions in the reviews to not take out the chicken after browning and to just add everything to the chicken in the pot. I don't really like cooking or eating chicken, but this came out PHENOMENAL!! It wasn't vinegary at all, and it was a really simple recipe! My house is blazing hot from the stove going all day, but it smells AMAZING in here. Thanks so much, will definitely use this for family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is SOOOOOO GOOD! My roommate in college was Filipino and this tastes like the adobo her mother would make. I'm so glad you posted this one. The only change I made was to use Bragg's liquid aminos instead of soy sauce to cut the sodium, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Yum! I originally made this recipe exactly following instructions, using thighs because that's what I had in the fridge. We liked it but found the soy a little overpowering. I altered it to use 1/2 cup soy and 1/2 cup vinegar - and with that small adjustment it is superb. I usually serve it with fried rice and egg rolls. My whole family devours it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States