Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Really easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Maybe I didn't understand the recipe. I was more like Creamed Onion. I modified this recipe and it tasted great. Cut back onion to 3 tablespoons. Saute the onion in the butter to start with. Then add the flour to the butter / onion mix and cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Then follow the recipe. But finish with 1/4 cup parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious! Will make again! The only thing I'd change is to maybe soften the onions by sauteeing them for a few mins in the butter and garlic, then add to the soup at the same time as the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This dish was somewhat bland. I think part of the problem may have been the spinach - I usually use fresh spinach and prefer the taste, and I'm not sure I properly thawed the frozen stuff. Will probably try again with fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I thought this was a little bit bland, but it wasn't bad. I like a little more zing in my creamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
a dash of worchestershire, hot red pepper flakes and celery salt help this recipe. To squeeze dry thawed spinach, use your potato ricer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Delush! I didn't have the cream of celery soup, so used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic and omitted the minced garlic. It was great! My 11 year old son asked if he could have it for breakfast. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A terrific, easy and lower calorie version of a favorite! I prepared as directed(used low sodium, low fat soup) but added a bit of grated parmesan to the mix, topped with cheese and bread crumb, and baked with my pork tenderloin for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I served this as a side dish with our Thanksgiving dinner and it stole the show. I did alter the recipe by adding 1 cup of shredded mozz. cheese right before taking the dish off of the stove. Great dish, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I've been looking pretty hard for a good creamed spinach recipe lately and I think I have found it. It's very easy and really good. The first time, I made it straight from the recipe. The second, I added about 1/4 cup (maybe a little less) of half and half. That seemed to give it something I thought more suitable. Either way, it's very good, thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States