Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. It did not have the cheese taste I was hoping for, even after trying to Dr. it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I gave it 4 stars vs. 5 because I had to add a lot of cream to make them creamy. plus the onion stayed crispy and I cooked it awhile. I will either omit onion next time or saute them first. My husband loved it and I think it is a good recipe for company. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
4 star with minor changes: sauted the garlic and onion til soft. Then added flour for a roux. Addition of 1/2 cup heavy cream with the soup, and a pinch of nutmeg. Great flavor and exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this the night before my family's Christmas party to give it a test run and it was quite good. My husband, a big fan of creamed spinach, thoroughly enjoyed it. I did add a couple of tablespoons of heavy cream at the end because it appeared rather dry. While I thought it lost something in quadrupling it for a big family dinner, however (even with the addition of heavy cream), my family gave it good reviews. Reheated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallen angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made as is and felt it was very average. Good, but not great. Everyone agreed. Maybe it was the cream of celery soup. I bet it would be better with cream of chicken, cheese, or potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
If prepared as written, I don't think this would be very good. Canned soup and raw onions? I followed the advise of other reviewers and sauted the onions and garlic in 1 tablespoon of butter. Then I added another tblsp of butter and the flour and made a roux with fat-free half and half (thanks, Lin), then I added the canned soup along with some Worchestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, paprika and nutmeg. Once this mixture was hot, I added 2 10 oz bags of fresh spinach, stirred it in, covered the pan and allowed to cook for about 10 minutes. Once the spinach had wilted, I added some freshly grated parm and poured the mixture into a casserole dish. I topped the spinach with bread crumbs and more parm and baked it for 20 minutes. This barely resembled the original recipe, but it was delicious. Thanks for the basic idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I, too, sauteed the onion first. This was great--very easy and my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States