Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of Cream of Celery, added a bit of cumin, parsley and thyme along with a dash of salt and pepper, the onion and fresh garlic. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Pretty darn tasty for how simplistic it is. Only thing I added was cheese. I went without the onion since I didn't have one on hand, still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt & my husband raved over it!! Even my 2 year old ate some. I would've given 5 stars but as others pointed out, this recipe needing some tweaks to make it perfect. The only things I would change are: 1) reduce the amount of margarine as it was a bit over powering, 2) add a little Worcestershire & red pepper flakes as folks here have recommended and 3) use crushed ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs on top. I also baked this for 18 mins on 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
next time chop the onion smaller or cook them first. also nutmeg sounds good. used cream of mushroom instead and was great. husband also liked the recipe after claiming he never ate creamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
good - could really taste the celery of cream of celery -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I wanted to use a thawed box of frozen spinach and thought of creamed spinach - but was out of milk and cream. Followed everything else but with only the one box of spinach and thought it was great. My often finicky mother liked it, too, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scary Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe! Only thing is I sauted the garlic ad onion in a tablespoon of butter before adding to the soup. Came out great, had no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I've made this many times over the last few years, always to good reviews. It's a staple of my comfort food menus. Like the others I soften my diced onion in butter before making the roux. I also add some paremsan cheese at the end. One of the keys I think it to really press your spinach dry. If near the end, it's a little thick, I'll add a little milk, cream, or half and half, whichever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I thought that I had added enough spinach (about 1lb) but it still seemed like there was too much "cream" and not enough spinach. It tasted good, the consistency just wasn't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RootedRedwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I thought this dish was awesome, I also added a few things such as some lowfat cream cheese, garlic salt, mrs dash and substituted dried minced onion for fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States