Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Decided to try this for the family Christmas breakfast using 12 slices of sandwich bread in 13" x 9" pan. Added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. Followed the recommendations of other reviewers and only dipped the bread slices in the egg & milk mixture rather than soaking for 10 minutes. Sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on the top layer. The consistency was perfect - melt in your mouth creamy & custard-like. It was a huge hit with children and adults. Had several requests for the recipe and was asked to make it again for the next family breakfast. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RikkiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
VERY good! I read someone's recommendation to use sliced apples in the bottom as well, so I sliced some granny smith apples very thin and placed in the bottom of the baking dish along with the butter and brown sugar. This had a perfect texture - not to dry and not too soggy. There was enough sweetness that it didn't need any syrup, but I used a wee bit anyway. :-D I will be making this again and again, and I can't wait to have company over for breakfast so I can try this out on them! Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was happy to find this...I was looking for a different French toast to make for my boys for breakfast....I was glad to find one that didn't have to sit overnight. This was so easy to make and it came together super quick. I did let my bread soak for almost 5 minutes...I was worried about it being soggy but it wasn't it was perfect and creamy. I am thinking this will be perfect on Christmas morning. Thank you Hennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was very good. I used regular white and wheat bread instead of what it called for. I also did not soak it for 5 minutes. I dipped it in and then put it in the dish. I added 5 extra minutes to the time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe! I was craving French toast, but I hate the messy frying. The other recipes required overnight soaking, but this one didn't. I was so glad to find this recipe. I used Texas Toast instead of French bread, and Eggbeaters instead of real eggs. Puffed up nicely, and looked pretty on the bottom where the brown sugar was. Convenient, as the syrup is built in. :) Be warned that it is a bit sticky. :) Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shainna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe! I loved that it didn't require hours overnight to prepare..just 5 minutes to let the bread soak. My family loved it..I will definately be making this easy and delicious recipe again....next time for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Literally, the best french toast I've ever had. I live in MT, so college football starts at 10:00 a.m. here. I invited people over for breakfast, and had planned on making overnight french toast... Except I fell asleep. I woke up the next morning at 8:00 a.m. and had to find a subsitute. This was better than I had imagined, and so easy too! My big casserole dishes were all in use, so I used about 1/3 of the bread in a 9x9 pan, and put the rest into individual ramekins (one piece per ramekin). Delicious. I do think the french toast in the casserole dish was best though. I did a second batch by request, and the second time, I flipped the french toast into the brown sugar mixture and baked for another five or ten minutes. It was FANTASTIC. Will make this again, forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Yum! I love it when I come to this site and find exactly what I'm looking for - french toast in the oven without soaking overnight. I used just 1 c of milk, a texture issue in our house :) Served with homemade applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
SUPER TASTY! I have never seen my kids devour any breakfast food like they did this. I had to put it in two dishes, added nutmeg and baked for around 40minutes. I think I will use significantly less sugar next time as well as less butter. No need for any syrup. I did cook some pears and put those on top when serving. Plan on trying apples in the bottom of the pan too and using raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My kids and I love this recipe. Too much butter for me though so, I cut the butter to 2T. and add some water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States