Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was a great recipe! I used white bread slices and didn't soak bread for 5 mins. Just about 10-20 seconds per side. I stacked slices on top of each other after dipping them in the egg mixture, about 3 slices high. I sprinkled cinnomon on top before baking. I did bake a little longer. My kids loved this and ate the whole dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This recipe is amazing!!! Truely a great family recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was very good. I used regular white and wheat bread instead of what it called for. I also did not soak it for 5 minutes. I dipped it in and then put it in the dish. I added 5 extra minutes to the time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe! I was craving French toast, but I hate the messy frying. The other recipes required overnight soaking, but this one didn't. I was so glad to find this recipe. I used Texas Toast instead of French bread, and Eggbeaters instead of real eggs. Puffed up nicely, and looked pretty on the bottom where the brown sugar was. Convenient, as the syrup is built in. :) Be warned that it is a bit sticky. :) Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shainna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I enjoyed this but my kids found it to be too soggy on the bottom. I cooked it about 35 min. in order to let it get a little more golden in color. The smell and taste of confectioners sugar made me feel like I was eating fried dough at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
What a treat! The brown sugar/butter/cinnamon mixture tastes like the gooey inside of a cinnamon roll. Since there are only two of us, I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8" pan. Also, the night before I had made 2 loaves of french bread using my bread maker to make the dough. Since this is a lot of bread for 2 people, the next-day french toast was a great way to spice up the leftover bread. This recipe worked great and I am definitely going to use this recipe again. It goes very well with a side of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe! I loved that it didn't require hours overnight to prepare..just 5 minutes to let the bread soak. My family loved it..I will definately be making this easy and delicious recipe again....next time for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States