Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! Easy to make and even better to eat. It reminds me of caramel rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boysmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Yum! I love it when I come to this site and find exactly what I'm looking for - french toast in the oven without soaking overnight. I used just 1 c of milk, a texture issue in our house :) Served with homemade applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
LOVE this! I used day-old brioche made in my breadmaker instead of a loaf of French bread. Also substituted soy milk for regular milk due to son's allergies...couldn't tell any different. The milk/egg mixture was so creamy, and the sugar mixture was the perfect sweetness. I will definitely make this again. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was happy to find this...I was looking for a different French toast to make for my boys for breakfast....I was glad to find one that didn't have to sit overnight. This was so easy to make and it came together super quick. I did let my bread soak for almost 5 minutes...I was worried about it being soggy but it wasn't it was perfect and creamy. I am thinking this will be perfect on Christmas morning. Thank you Hennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My kids don't usually like french toast, but they ate this up! I love the smell as it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
VERY good! I read someone's recommendation to use sliced apples in the bottom as well, so I sliced some granny smith apples very thin and placed in the bottom of the baking dish along with the butter and brown sugar. This had a perfect texture - not to dry and not too soggy. There was enough sweetness that it didn't need any syrup, but I used a wee bit anyway. :-D I will be making this again and again, and I can't wait to have company over for breakfast so I can try this out on them! Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
SUPER TASTY! I have never seen my kids devour any breakfast food like they did this. I had to put it in two dishes, added nutmeg and baked for around 40minutes. I think I will use significantly less sugar next time as well as less butter. No need for any syrup. I did cook some pears and put those on top when serving. Plan on trying apples in the bottom of the pan too and using raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My family loved this and I loved the ease of preperation. The house smelled awesosme. I made this for supper and served with sausage patties...Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scio, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very yummy,and super easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought this was pretty good, I may have over cooked it slightly as it stuck to the pan. My mom suggested I maybe should have sprayed with Pam along with the sugar and butter mixture. The kids loved the smell in the kitchen as it was baking, and they loved the look of the powdered sugar. I was surprised that no one asked for syrup or butter, that must mean they liked it as is. Next time I might increase the butter/sugar mixture, just to make it a little gooier. I made this using two pans. I laid the sliced french bread out in the first pan, then poured the batter over it and let it soak in. Meanwhile, I spread the butter sugar mixture on the bottom of the second pan. I then put the buttered pan over the first pan and flipped the bread into the buttered pan. While the dish was cooking, I washed the first pan in order to flip the finished toast back on to the first pan. I don't know if that's the best way to do it, but it worked for me. Will make again. It was an easy fix for my "What should I make for breakfast when I've got all the cousins and grandma and grandpa here overnight". I served it with the Baked Brunch Omelet on this website, which was also a hit. Everyone seemed impressed and the smell was wonderful!! Thanks for such a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States