Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe! I added some vanilla to the butter/brown sugar/cinnamon just because I like it. My husband LOVED this and has talked about it at several gatherings - he very, very seldom comments on food I have made even to me, let alone to a lot of other people. I'm making this for a family reunion this weekend. Hoping the reviews are as great as my husband's was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was very good. Found that I needed to cook longer than the recipe called for. I also added thinly sliced apples on top of the butter mixure and it was good and didn't needed any added syrup Used Texas toast instead of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Another reviewer said this was great to make for a crowd, so I did for Mother's Day. It turned out great! I made it once before, and I prefer if the French bread is a day old. Also, careful not to soak too long or it can be soggy. (Next time I'll try dipping as others suggested.) I also added a pinch of nutmeg. It tastes awesome and looks beautiful on a platter. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Delicious! Agree with other reviews - great recipe for a crowd, especially for company. Delicious flavor. Recommend using dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Yum! This recipe is very good. I love french toast and this makes me want it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Super easy and fast to prepare. My family likes this better than the overnight variety. It's far less soggy. We use toasted regular white bread. You can easily put six slices in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I added 2 t. vanilla extract to the milk mixture because everything tastes better with vanilla. The second time I made it I used 2/3 stick margarine instead of a whole one. Didn't notice much of a difference. The kids (and adults) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My kids love this! We make it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Decided to try this for the family Christmas breakfast using 12 slices of sandwich bread in 13" x 9" pan. Added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. Followed the recommendations of other reviewers and only dipped the bread slices in the egg & milk mixture rather than soaking for 10 minutes. Sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on the top layer. The consistency was perfect - melt in your mouth creamy & custard-like. It was a huge hit with children and adults. Had several requests for the recipe and was asked to make it again for the next family breakfast. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RikkiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
We had an impromptu sleepover last night for 4 12-year old girls on a snowy evening. I made this in the morning for them and my 9-year old son. It was very good, very rich. The only change I made was that I didn't have french bread on hand so made with raisin bread. It didn't get 5 stars because none of the 5 kids took seconds. They said it tasted like cinammon rolls. Served with fresh fruit and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States