Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I really loved how easy and quick this was to prepare...and that it didn't require soaking. I will try a few changes next time to better suit my pickier crowd. I think maybe it needed a little salt to off set the sweetness. But with how easy it is to fix, I won't have any trouble perfecting it! :) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! Used loaf bread (wheat) with frozen blueberries between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Literally, the best french toast I've ever had. I live in MT, so college football starts at 10:00 a.m. here. I invited people over for breakfast, and had planned on making overnight french toast... Except I fell asleep. I woke up the next morning at 8:00 a.m. and had to find a subsitute. This was better than I had imagined, and so easy too! My big casserole dishes were all in use, so I used about 1/3 of the bread in a 9x9 pan, and put the rest into individual ramekins (one piece per ramekin). Delicious. I do think the french toast in the casserole dish was best though. I did a second batch by request, and the second time, I flipped the french toast into the brown sugar mixture and baked for another five or ten minutes. It was FANTASTIC. Will make this again, forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Keeper! Very good, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I am not a French Toast fan and this is my first time making it for my family. My husband likes French Toast and he thought this recipe was okay. He still raves about his Aunt's French toast recipe so I will have to keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
delicious! 5 stars with my changes. i used about a 1/3 c. butter and 1 tsp cinn. then i just dipped the bread well and laid it in the pan(and i added 1 tsp of cinn and 2 tsp of vanilla to egg mix). however, i used reg whole wheat bread, layed down the first layer, then sprinkled cinn/b. sugar over and frozen blueberries. then added the 2nd layer of bread. the blueberries help to cut the sweetness. took longer to cook with this added layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was easy and delicious. It took me about 5 minutes to prepare and baked it thirty minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My kids and I love this recipe. Too much butter for me though so, I cut the butter to 2T. and add some water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Great recipe!! I made it for Easter breakfast and everybody loved it. As per a previous suggestion, I peeled and thinly sliced 3 large yellow delicious apples and added them to the brown sugar layer. I also had some blue berries and added them too. I used regular white bread and baked it for 30 minutes. No syrup needed. So much easier than making french toast the regular way. Definitely will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
very good. i followed exactly, except i had some whole wheat bread to use up and had half that and half french bread, and i made a half recipe since there was 3 of us eating. i soaked for 5 minutes, baked for 30 minutes. well i did add nuts too. next time i'd double the cinnamon, and i always put vanilla in my batter when i make french toast the usual way, so i'd add that too. it baked fully, nice consistency. it might work well in a bundt pan with a half recipe. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States