Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is very good! Simple and pretty quick to assemble. I would, however, cut down the amount of egg mixture. I didn't need most of it. I didn't soak the eggs for 5 minutes like the recipe said. I just laid them in the egg mixture for a few seconds then turned them over for a few more seconds. I think if you soaked them for 5-10 minutes, they would be too soggy and never get crispy and firm up. The sauce on the bottom tasted great, but make sure you dissolve your brown sugar thoroughly, or it's really grainy. I added a little vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mixture, because that's what I put in regular french toast. Next time, I"ll try cutting the egg mixture in half so I don't have so much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Just baked this this morning, and it was a real hit. My hubby thought of a really good addition. We fixed one pan with just the brown sugar mixture and the second pan with pecans added to the brown sugar mixture. The french toast with the pecans were totally awesome! This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Used challah bread but otherwise followed recipe. Soaked a couple of pieces for a minute or two, but just dipped the rest of them. The ones that I soaked came out too wet and mushy, so if using challah or similar bread, I would just dip. I flipped over at the end and cooked a little longer. The taste was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ciccone Kershaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Flavor ok; texture just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
All 5 members of my family loved it! They thought I was making cinnamon rolls. This recipe is easy and delicious! I had a day-old French Loaf. I cut the slices into Texas toast thickness (about 1" as suggested) and then soaked them by holding them down in the egg mixture until the air/bubbles quit escaping from the bread. I poured the leftover egg slowly over the pieces in the pan and let it soak in. I cooked them for 25 minutes on an aluminum pan and then flipped the pieces over to cook for another 3 minutes in the oven. Next time I might make more brown sugar mixture, but it was delightful just as Hennie wrote it! (If you like pecans, you could mix some in with the brown sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Petersen Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I'm sorry. I hate when people say they love a recipe and then proceed to say what they changed. I always thought "Then it's not the same recipe". Now I'm going to do the same thing. I wanted an overnight recipe. My french bread was stale so I knew it would need to soak. I put the bread in the pan, covered it with the egg mixture, sprinkled it with cinnamon, and let it set in the refrigerator over night. While I was preheating the oven, I mixed up the caramel mixture and then poured it over the top. Baked as recipe stated. It turned out fabulous! The bread was not too soggy and it actually had just a little crunch on top. It didn't stick to the pan because the caramel was on top. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is awsome, everyone is happy after breakfast when I make this. It's very tasty cold as well. Tastes almost like a donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b_v dh
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Awesome recipe!! I followed recipe/ingredients as listed and won't change a thing. My boys gave thumbs up and went back for seconds. I used a stale french baguette and prepared it first, before the sugar and butter, so that it would absorb the egg mixture...so I guess it sat for about 10 mins (I'm slow on Sunday mornin's). It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My family loved it. The only difference was I had to double the brown sugar and butter. Otherwise, there wouldn't been enough for all the bread. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is so delicious!!! I am on a gluten-free diet, but no one else in my family is...so I snuck a few pieces of my own bread into the pan too. I loved it. My 14 year old niece says "This is the best french toast ever!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States