Family-Style French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Prepared exactly as written. It's simple, fast and so delish! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
WOW - the kids went nuts - the Mrs thought it was the best thing I ever made, seriously out of this world. I was a bit confused because the top side doesn't get that done look that you would if you used a frying pan and flipped it. but it's great. I was thinking you could quick hit one side in the pan and place the other side on the bake dish, but that might dry it out. Stick with this for the first time and tweek as you see fit. It will be part of your breakfasts forever : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Albert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Ingredients are perfect, but I changed the directions a bit to save myself the fuss first thing in the morning. I put the brown sugar, butter and cinnamon on the bottom as directed. Then I placed the plain bread in the pan over the topping. Next, I poured the egg mixture evenly over the top of each slice. I covered the pan and put it in the refrigerator overnight. I popped it in the oven the next morning and baked uncovered. This method allows me to fool others into thinking I'm a "morning person".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very easy to make and the kids loved it. I used Texas toast and only dipped the bread long enough to ensure it was coated on both sides. Will be making again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This turned out so good I added it to my Breakfast staples. I substituted unsweetened almond milk and used homemade egg bread, but it was still just as lovely as the first time I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
My kids loved this. I had a loaf of smashed wheat bread so rather than use whole pieces I ripped the loaf up and followed the directions. I think this way might have turned out better than the typical French Toast pieces. I also added vanilla to the egg/milk mixture. Thanks for a new twist that is easy to clean up and quick to make for several people at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I would cut down on butter next time but this was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
DON'T BURN THE BROWN SUGAR LAYER! Just tried this and while it super easy and quick to make, I was waiting for the pieces to turn "golden brown" and it took maybe 15 mins longer. In that time, it burnt the brown sugar layer - which made it a hard crust and equally pretty tough to chew/cut through. The 11 yr old did say that it was really good "once you got past the brown sugar". I used a half of a French Bread loaf and all the pieces fit fine in the regular cookie sheet type pan. It did soak up all the milk and was a bit soggy when finally done - so next time I will also just dunk it. I'll update this if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was so good! After his first bite by husband said. "This is so good. It is like a head on collision between french toast and a sticky bun!" My thoughts exactly. Easy and wonderful. Doesn't get better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Easy to make and super good! I didn't have a dish big enough to fit all the pieces of bread, so i had to do it in two batches. The first batch soaked up all of the egg/milk, so next time I'll do half of it at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States