Family Sicilian Sauce and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good gravy! Used ground chuck for the meatballs but did put the cubed brisket in. Only a dash of cinnamon is needed. I used serving size adjuster function for this recipe to 12 servings and it made a normal pot of sauce for a family of 5 for our spaghetti dinner. Neck bones are hard to find, but, the marrow leaching is a definite flavor and texture enhancer and does make a difference. I have tried it both ways. The butcher was able to provide me with some pork bones - either neck or not, I have found it didn't matter as long as there were pork bones in the sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a great deal of work but worth every second! My family loved it. I've always wanted to try making my own sauce and this was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I'm going back to my own family recipe. Would never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
For the last poster, go to the Recipe Buzz to ask questions on any cooking topic. The cooks are very willing to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
So glad you posted this for all to appreciate! My great grandfather was from Sicily and my great grandmother was from Milan. This is so similar (to the T except for the meatballes) to how we have been raised to make sauce! Very authentic!!! It's the long cooking time that's the key to taking what we call the "green" flavor out of the sauce. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I haven't made this sauce yet, but recognize most of the ingredients as similar to the sauce my Sicilian grandfather passed to my mom. For those of you thinking of trying this sauce, the pork neck bones are essential, as is the cheese in the meatballs. Can't wait to make this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is very similar to the sauce my dad use to make--wake up to the smell of garlic and onions frying-waiting all day for it to cook--yum. He would never add ground meat to his sauce and I would never either. It's just not the same. The bones from the pork neck bones add a thickness to the sauce that you just don't get any other way. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Ja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Okay - overall this sauce came out great. I only used two onions because using four of them seemed like too much, but probably would've been fine had i used four. I also added some oregano and crushed red pepper to the sauce and put a little extra wine and also extra garlic. I doubled the chop meat and meatball ingredients because I like meatballs a little larger than golf balls as suggested - big fan of meatballs made with bread. I put the meatballs in right away (i had them chilling in the fridge for a few hours), then once all the ingredients were in the sauce i dropped them in - if they are a decent size they wont fall apart. I would definitely OMIT the cinnamon - it was very overpowering & my mother, who's been making sauce for 50+ years could taste it right away... someone else told me the sausages tasted like cinnamon as well... p.s. as usual, the leftovers two days later tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizi13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Wonderful sauce. A little labor intensive, but if you got the time then go for it. I added some red pepper flakes (pizza topping) to the sauce with about an hour left in the cook time. Gave it that little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This had a very interesting taste to it. My husband didn't like it, though. Although I found the flavor rather unique, it wasn't really something I would make again. But I appreciate the recipe and trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States