Family Favorite Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Really nice versatile recipe. My one caveat was not needing even close to the whole box of pasta, I think even 1/2 a box would have been plenty. My 3 kids ate this with no problem. Very nice weeknight recipe, comes together very quickly. I also used pasta water to thicken sauce instead of cornstarch. Thanks for an easy and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanya
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We really liked this. I think the black bean garlic sauce added a depth of flavor to the dish beyond the soy sauce and sesame oil. Mine was a little salty but that was my fault.I used chicken bouillon instead of broth and then added more soy sauce.I cooked up the whole box of pasta but did not use it all, I think 3/4 of a box was plenty. I also marinated the chicken in soy sauce and a little rice wine vinagar but I am sure it would have been fine without it.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A tasty and easy dish. I love veggies so added fresh sliced mushrooms, white onion & green bell pepper. I sliced my carrot as opposed to shredding them, cooked them a bit longer than the other veggies. I used linguine as I was out of Angel hair pasta. Also did not have Chinese black bean and garlic sauce, so just tossed in approximately 3 tsp of chopped garlic. I marinated the chicken in Teriyaki sauce prior to cooking. I only used half the amount of pasta called for, but the same amount of broth. This ratio of broth to pasta was perfect. I will make this recipe again with the following changes double the amount of sauce, add a larger variety of veggies, use Teriyaki chicken & chopped garlic. Overall, a lovely basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
i am rating this a five because i don't want others to shy away from this recipe. if there were more votes than i would rate it a four. this was really good! i was nervous by how little ingredients it called for but i was shocked to find it very flavorful. i only used a half box of pasta like others suggested and i am glad i did. the broth to pasta ratio was spot on. i didn't have black bean and garlic sauce (could not find it anywhere!!) so i used oyster sauce instead. great recipe that i will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I was surprised as to how well this turned out. I used hoisen sauce instead of black bean sauce,6 oz of pasta, 1/2 to 3/4 pasta water instead of the cornstarch, no broth, added shredded cabage, chopped onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great base. I add onion, napa cabbage and use fresh chinese egg noodles. I also use thigh meat because my family prefers the moisture of the thigh meat in chow mein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
a very adaptable recipe. i did not have black bean sauce so i used oyster sauce in it's place. i doubled the sauce and used a whole box of pasta with double the veggies. i had 3 very large boneless skinless chicken breasts as well. this way we had lots of leftovers for work lunches. you could use any veggies you have on hand and add shrimp in the chickens place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and found it very soupy. The sauce never thickened. I think 1 1/2 cup broth is way too much. And I agree, too many noodles. It also resembles nothing you would find in a Chinese restaurant, which was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Added more veggies and it just wasn't very flavourful or worth the time and effort. Always on a quest for a good stir-fry and quick meals and this doesn't make the list. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding snow peas and mushrooms because we love them in our Asian dishes. My really only complaint is that the dish looks so colorful and pretty until you add the black bean sauce and then it turns everything a greyish brown. Note also that the recipe states to set the cooked chicken aside but never does say when to add it back in. It was easy for me to know when to add it back in but a new cook would not know this and it should state in the instructions. With that said, this is a good base and can be changed up with different veggies for variety and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States