Family Favorite Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
my family loved this i added a little more bean and garlic sauce and less pasta and i also added a litttle fish sauce i get asked to make this a least once a week lol one thing i do is chop all the vegs before hand and cook chickin before hand so its a snap to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and found it very soupy. The sauce never thickened. I think 1 1/2 cup broth is way too much. And I agree, too many noodles. It also resembles nothing you would find in a Chinese restaurant, which was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This didn't work out for us. I make dishes like this a lot and black bean and garlic sauce is a staple in my pantry. I think the 3 tablespoons was a little much. I LOVE the stuff, but thought this dish was too salty. I even left out the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very easy recipe! Easy to change things up and still get good results. I added a bit more Sesame Oil than called for and bought actual lo mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Good stuff - everyone enjoyed it.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Added more veggies and it just wasn't very flavourful or worth the time and effort. Always on a quest for a good stir-fry and quick meals and this doesn't make the list. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We thought this was pretty good. It's definitely great for a weeknight meal, quick and tasty. I did use a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to have zero flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
i am rating this a five because i don't want others to shy away from this recipe. if there were more votes than i would rate it a four. this was really good! i was nervous by how little ingredients it called for but i was shocked to find it very flavorful. i only used a half box of pasta like others suggested and i am glad i did. the broth to pasta ratio was spot on. i didn't have black bean and garlic sauce (could not find it anywhere!!) so i used oyster sauce instead. great recipe that i will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A tasty and easy dish. I love veggies so added fresh sliced mushrooms, white onion & green bell pepper. I sliced my carrot as opposed to shredding them, cooked them a bit longer than the other veggies. I used linguine as I was out of Angel hair pasta. Also did not have Chinese black bean and garlic sauce, so just tossed in approximately 3 tsp of chopped garlic. I marinated the chicken in Teriyaki sauce prior to cooking. I only used half the amount of pasta called for, but the same amount of broth. This ratio of broth to pasta was perfect. I will make this recipe again with the following changes double the amount of sauce, add a larger variety of veggies, use Teriyaki chicken & chopped garlic. Overall, a lovely basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States