Family Favorite Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I had to double the corn starch to get it to thicken, but besides that, a really good recipe. I have made this twice now and plan to experiment with other sauces, maybe peanut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrudyCraig Seim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was delicious. My family loved it and it was easy to make. I pretty much followed the recipe but did add fresh ginger to the recipe and used fettucine instead of angel hair pasta. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I was surprised as to how well this turned out. I used hoisen sauce instead of black bean sauce,6 oz of pasta, 1/2 to 3/4 pasta water instead of the cornstarch, no broth, added shredded cabage, chopped onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Didn't seem to have any flavor. Try another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding snow peas and mushrooms because we love them in our Asian dishes. My really only complaint is that the dish looks so colorful and pretty until you add the black bean sauce and then it turns everything a greyish brown. Note also that the recipe states to set the cooked chicken aside but never does say when to add it back in. It was easy for me to know when to add it back in but a new cook would not know this and it should state in the instructions. With that said, this is a good base and can be changed up with different veggies for variety and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this recipe as written; but substituted shrimp for chicken. My husband and I liked it, but felt it was missing something flavorwise. Whether it be to add sweet or spice, it needs something in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great base. I add onion, napa cabbage and use fresh chinese egg noodles. I also use thigh meat because my family prefers the moisture of the thigh meat in chow mein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
i brought this to a potluck tonight with a theme of recipes we've never tried and this went over really well! i added some extra broth so it wouldn't dry out on the trip over but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. the noodles really took on a great flavor. this was really easy and really tasty, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
my family loved this i added a little more bean and garlic sauce and less pasta and i also added a litttle fish sauce i get asked to make this a least once a week lol one thing i do is chop all the vegs before hand and cook chickin before hand so its a snap to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States