Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
P really liked this. I think I would have been happier with cream of chicken soup instead of (or even in addition to) celery soup, but it was fine as is. I did substitute a little because of what I had on hand. No mushrooms, 8 oz of water chestnuts instead of 5, and one bonus carrot just for the fun of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious.....my family loved it. Keep asking for some more. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Everything about this recipe cried out "Fantastic! Why didn't I think of that?" I used 4c. cubed chicken breast for my meat-loving family, fresh cooked broccoli, no mushrooms (just didn't seem to "go") or water chestnuts, then added 3/4 c. plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 c. total chicken broth (because it was dry, as other reviewers noted). I did NOT add extra cheese, as I have been trying to cut back on fat in my cooking. Well, long story short, the dish was pretty bland and disappointing, especially after all that prep. I think I've narrowed the problem down to the chicken. There was so much of it and it was unseasoned. And fresh garlic is the missing ingredient. I'm giving 4 stars because the recipe has so much promise - but it ain't there yet, in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Would need to change it a bit. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a great take on a recipe my mom used to make, only she did it sans broccoli and celery. I loved the addition of the veggies, but I did leave out the mushrooms and water chestnuts. We thought it was delicious, my only complaint was that it could have used more spices. Next time I will definitely up the garlic, pepper, salt, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I will make this again. I was worried that it would be mushy...but the texture of the dish was great and even my picky non-broccoli eating teen liked it. The water chestnuts added a nice crunch. The reason I gave it a 3 is because I'm not sure I would have liked it if I had not modified it. Modifications below: - reduced butter to 1 tablespoon and added water to browning pan as needed - used 2 cans cream of chicken instead of the 1 can cream of celery that was called for - used 1 cup of brown rice cooked in chicken broth...netted out with more than 2 cups of rice I'm sure - doubled the cheddar cheese - added 1/2 cup of chuncked velvetta cheese (this left small pockets of creamy cheese to be discovered - yum) - used fresh mushrooms - added 2 tablespoons of minced garlic - added 1 chopped green pepper - topped with crushed corn flakes 10 mins before baking was complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is a keeper! I used fresh broccoli and mushrooms and followed everything else. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
my family loved it! its definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for something warm and cozy to cook on a chilly day and this perked my interest so I decided to give it a try....I thought this turned out pretty good and I'd probably make it again. I did change a few things tho --- I left out the water chestnuts & mushroom because I dont care for them...I also seasoned the chicken before I cooked it. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My family did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States